Little Bites

littlebitesA few weeks ago, I took a day trip to Boston to meet with Jenn, my editor at Roost, and pick up a copy of Little Bites.  It’s hard to describe how it felt to hold the actual book in my hands after working on it tirelessly for the past few years.  It surpassed all of my expectations.  The paper quality is gorgeous, the pictures translate beautifully, the size is perfect, and the design is spot-on.  The team at Roost has such vision and I could not be more thrilled to be one of their authors.  I’ve been showing off the book to friends and family, and everyone that has held it and flipped through the pages has fallen in love with the recipes, the words and the pictures.  As one friend said, “This book was made with such intention.”  I love that.  That is what I aspire to both in life and work; creating with intention.

050115_0133_uncropped

050115_0101_uncroppedI had the idea for Little Bites when Vijay was about 18 months old.  He is now closing in on 5.  To say that this book was a labor of love would be an understatement!  What’s funny is that I need this book in my life now more than ever.  I have two hungry, active boys to feed and a large part of each day goes into preparing them nutritious and delicious food.  I’m thrilled that Little Bites now lives in my kitchen, where I can browse through it at any given moment for snack-time inspiration.  Below is a peek at what you’ll find inside…in addition to 100 recipes for healthy, kid-friendly snacks, there is a jam-packed introduction and seasonal field trip ideas scattered throughout.  The idea is to make seasonal eating fun, wholesome and accessible!  Children associate snacks with fun, tasty, easy-to-eat foods, but as parents, we know that the very best snacks are all that and more. Snacks, when done right, serve an important purpose–they give our kids a needed boost of energy. Instead of settling for processed crackers or bags of sugary treats, we used our creativity and love of food to develop wholesome snacks that are easy to pack and simple to make.  Sarah is a genius when it comes to feeding kids; her recipes are both inventive and approachable.  It was truly an honor to work alongside her for the past few years.  Without a doubt my culinary skills have improved greatly just from cooking alongside her!  I simply can’t wait for you to try these recipes in your own kitchen.  I can promise there will be much more book talk in the months to come.  Little Bites releases in July, but you can preorder your copy now!

(top three photos by my fave, Forrest!)

Little Bites

Little Bites1

Little Bites3

Little Bites4

Little Bites2

13 thoughts on “Little Bites

  1. Anna

    This looks awesome! Healthy snacks are something I am constantly trying to incorporate into our day. I can’t wait to try some of those recipes.

    Reply
  2. Anna

    What a gorgeous book! I definitely need snack ideas for my always hungry two year old. It is also nice to know that it took time, thought, and intention to create such a beautiful book.

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    DESPERATE to get my hands on a copy and really sink into it… little Em is snack-obsessed! Congrats, CONGRATS- YAHOO! and well, well done, Mama! xoxo

    Reply
  4. cchitnis Post author

    Thank you so much for all of your sweet comments! I can’t wait for you all to get your hands on the book and tell me what you think! I appreciate you sharing in my excitement 🙂

    Reply
  5. Xan

    Oooh, I pre-ordered my copy through Amazon – wish I’d gone direct through Roost. Might just have to order another couple direct and give them as gifts 🙂 The photo that Forrest took with the stack of two books on the chair… can’t wait for next year when it becomes three and then four and then five and then…. squeee so many, many more. YAY! xo

    Reply
  6. Lina

    Been meaning to say congratulations Christine! What a great book! Can’t wait to order it because it sounds like one I may need!

    Reply
  7. Amy C

    Such a great idea! My one child seems to only eat “snacks!” Can’t wait to get when it comes out. From fellow RI’er…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

