Providence Design*Sponge City Guide

The Shop1For years now, whenever someone emails me with questions about Providence- where to shop, eat and explore- I direct them to the guide that I wrote for Design*Sponge.  In my mind it was still current, but a few months ago I realized that it had been five years!  Needless to say, it was time for an update.  As with any relationship, the one I have with my city is full of ups and downs.  I love the vibrant food scene, the fact that we can afford a lovely house yet are in walking distance of everything.  I love my community garden and farmer’s market, and the coffee shop where they know just how I like my iced latte.  I love our neighbors and the fact the kids run back and forth between yards to play with each other.  But the public schools are not great, we deal with high crime rates, and occasionally I yearn for more space and the beauty of nature out my back window.  I’m learning as I get older that nothing is perfect- there is no perfect place to call home.  That being said, I’m pretty darn happy with Providence (for the moment!).  I’d love for you to pop over to Design*Sponge and see the guide that I put together.  It is chock full of all my favorite spots around the city.  We’re lucky to call this vibrant, creative, design-savvy, food-obsessed city home.

The Arcade

The Grange

The Grange1

Providence, around town

Providence

The Dean

Faust

4 thoughts on “Providence Design*Sponge City Guide

  1. Nina

    I’ve been following your blog for 3 or 4 years and because of all your posts about Providence, it is on my list of places I’d love to visit.

    Reply
    1. cchitnis Post author

      That’s so cool Nina! I never realized that’s how you found me. If you ever visit Providence, let me know and I’ll show you around. It really is a great city!

      Reply
  2. sealicious

    Hi Christine,
    I just came across this really interesting website that interviews people about transitioning from city to country – I am always wondering where I belong! http://www.urbanexodus.com/

    I am probably here in RI for the long haul because my friends and family are here, but it has been a sacrifice for my career sometimes

    Reply
    1. cchitnis Post author

      I just spent the last hour completely entranced by that website…thank you so much for sharing! I do dream of the country and having more space, but I also adore our neighborhood and the fact that my kids can play in the yard with all the neighborhood kids while the moms and dads sip their coffee and chat. Those connections are priceless at this point in our lives!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

