Home again, home again

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetAs I’m writing I’m looking out my window at a 4-foot snow bank.  The plows came through again last night and added even more snow onto the mound.  I feel as though I might have to dig some kind of elaborate tunnel system just to get out the door.  Quite a change from a few days ago when we were swimming in the turquoise water pictured above (pictures here taken at The Baths on Virgin Gorda, a daytrip from Tortola).  But in all honesty it feels great to be home.  The first night in my own bed I was practically giddy.  The sheets felt extra soft, and my old-timer Tempur-Pedic pillow felt amazing!  Getting home, well that was a different story.  My husband had to stay in the islands for another week, so the boys and I were on our own.  Three flights, two delays, a computer left at airport security, two lost bags and 14 hours later, we dragged our sorry bones into our house and collapsed.  Never again will I take on a trip of that magnitude by myself.  Lesson learned.  And it wasn’t that the boys were difficult- they were actually incredible- it was just the sheer physicality of it.  At one point I had three bags slung over my shoulders, and a sleeping boy in each arm.  I totaled up the approximate weight and realized I was carrying about 100+ pounds through the airport- running no less- to catch a flight.  But we made it, we’re home.  I’ve been cooking and cleaning, knitting and sewing.  Basically, I’m nesting…that’s how happy I am to be home.  I talked about struggling to feel at home in Providence earlier this year so I can’t tell you how amazing it was to arrive home and feel overwhelming gratitude for our bright, cheerful house, our supportive preschool community, our incredible friends (who made sure I came home to a homemade dinner), and our wonderful, snow-covered town.  I’ll be back here next week with a few exciting posts- including my recently finished epic sweater project!  Until then, enjoy your weekend, whether it brings you sunshine or snow.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

4 thoughts on “Home again, home again

  1. cruzdek

    I love your photos and your writing and I understand your feeling of coming home and ‘nesting’. Whenever I go on holiday, even a dream holiday such as yours, I come home grateful and content. I just wanted to thank you for your gorgeous blog. I check in weekly and am always inspired by your creativity so I’d really like to thank you so much for sharing this with us.

    Reply
  2. Xan

    Happy homecoming my beautiful friend. There’s nothin’ like your own bed is there? International travel with little ones and baggage is so challenging and I am in complete awe of you for tackling it on your own – albeit never again 🙂 The kids and I are enjoying our own weekend of nesting right alongside of you xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

