Giving Thanks

15628488030_e2cf3ae38d_oToday I am feeling thankful for the year we’ve had so far.  It has been one of the most emotionally difficult years in so many ways, but it has forced us to stretch and grow (uncomfortable as it may be) while we figure out what’s next for this little family of ours.  I have battled with my love for Providence, and feeling overwhelmed by work.  I’ve learn to let go as Vijay ventured off to school for the first time.  We’ve had major house repairs that took us by surprise, and cost us a pretty penny.  And there have been personal battles that threw us all for a loop.  But as the year begins to draw to a close, I can’t help but feel that so much of the stress is behind us for now.  I remember complaining to my mom that, “I just want it all to end.”  It being the stress, unwelcome surprises, and upheaval.  She just looked at me and said, “It will end when life ends.”  True enough (though not quite the sympathy I was looking for in the moment!).  Life is messy and unpredictable.  But beauty comes from broken places, and how are we to appreciate that beauty if we haven’t been through the darkness?

15811484611_f294d527c5_o

15813334855_76e210fd20_o

15789693546_d1ce059ba2_oIn just a few hours, Vik and I will join Vijay at his preschool, and along with all of his classmates and their families, we’ll be treated to a Harvest Feast that the kids cooked themselves.  Pumpkin muffins, apple sauce, vegetable soup, homemade bread; they’ve been hard at work.  Vijay is so excited that he’s been counting down for weeks.  “How many more days until the Harvest Feast?” he asks every morning.

15811450511_5fb932494b_o

15193377724_e23cb3d56f_o

15193896193_7e9bcf7196_o

15627540839_d719ffaa81_oAfter his Harvest Feast, we’ll board a plane to Chicago, my favorite city, where we’ll spend Thanksgiving surrounded by family.  I’m feeling very thankful indeed.  Life is messy, as I’m continually learning, and the house will always need cleaning, and the laundry will always need folding, and the to-do list will never end.  But these are the signs of a life well lived, a life that is full of love, and chaos and laughter, and most importantly little people.  Oh, those little people- that’s where it’s at.  I hope you and yours have a blessed Thanksgiving, and I’ll see you back here next week with pictures and stories to share from the Windy City.

(pictures from my recent Gardenista article on Tower Hill Botanic Garden, the most magical place)

15811448411_d95a9a4e88_o

15627550469_b0a02eee80_o

5 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Xan

    Wishing you much joy and wonder in your celebrations. Happy Thanksgiving! And might I add…. “but beauty comes from broken places, and how are we to appreciate that beauty if we haven’t been through the darkness?” …those are some incredibly wise words and I am very grateful to have read them. Thank you Christine for those words and so much more xo

    Reply
    1. cchitnis Post author

      You are so sweet, Xan. I’m so thankful for your uplifting and encouraging words- it means so much to me that you take the time to comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

