Cozy Quilted Vest

vest1This post has been a long time coming.  I believe I started working on this vest three or four months ago, and I had planned to finish it sometime in early September so that I could wear it throughout the fall.  But it’s worth the wait.  Cozy, stylish, a great layering piece; this vest has got it all going on.  When I first saw the pattern over on The Purl Bee, I knew I needed to make one for myself in the exact fabric that they used.  Because the more I sew, the more I hone in on pieces that I would actually wear, and let me tell you, I haven’t taken this off since I hand-stitched the last inch of binding.

_MG_8634I happened to see Elizabeth while wearing my vest- well let me pause here, I didn’t just happen to see her, I was over at her house using her shower because we were without plumbing all last week.  Though not to worry, a trillion dollars later and a completely torn-up front yard and it’s all good.  Hooray for 110 year old homes and pipes!  Anyway, where was I?  Oh yes, Elizabeth saw my vest and flipped.  I think I’ll have to make her one for Christmas.  She actually thought I had sneaked off to NYC for some shopping (in my spare time) and picked up this vest at some chic boutique.  See why I love her!?  While I’m not sure I’d go that far (she didn’t look closely!) this vest is pretty darn fabulous.

vestThe last thing I’ll say before I wrap up this love story is this- don’t be fooled.  Oh…a simple quilted vest!  How easy.  Nope- this one was a lot of work.  It wasn’t hard, per se, just labor intensive.  The arm holes as well as the entire outline of the vest is hand-stitched binding.  Let’s just say I’m all caught up on Homeland!

_MG_8647Previous to this project, I was at a crafting stand-still.  I just haven’t had the time.  I’m vowing to change that.  I’m trying to get better about putting my computer away once the kids are in bed, and using that time to indulge in things that feed me, instead of just working late into the night.  This week I took a Bikram yoga class.  I’ve been reading (making my way through your recommendations) and I’ve picked up my knitting needles again (that beautiful yarn above is halfway to a sweater right now!).  I know…party on, right!?

_MG_8780(Thanks Sarah, for the beautiful pictures!)

3 thoughts on “Cozy Quilted Vest

  1. squam (@squamlove)

    Although I posted the following on twitter and fb — Oh yes, Elizabeth saw my vest and flipped. I think I’ll have to make her one for Christmas” YES! *fist pump* — you may not make me that vest for Christmas as I could not live with the guilt of how much work went into it. But I LOVE that you made it and can’t wait to see what comes out of that creative studio of yours next xoxoxox

    Reply
  2. Xan

    Seriously? You are amazing! That vest is super. I can’t believe you hand stitched all that binding! And how are you half way through a sweater with that yarn? I began knitting a slouchy hat to give as a Christmas gift back in August – I’m only just getting to the double pointed needles on the crown now! Not to mention the jumper (sweater) I began knitting for my husband during our Thailand trip (hello last April!) which is still on the needles. Definitely time for me to balance out those nights of working late and have a break from the trilogy I’m reading which I just discovered is not a trilogy at all but a chronology of six! xo

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 2014: A Look Back | Christine Chitnis

Leave a Reply

