A Roost Giveaway

coversFor the past year and a half, I have been consumed with the writing, photographing, and editing of my second book, Little Bites.  This week my coauthor, Sarah, and I will receive the page proofs- seeing for the first time all of our hard work come together.  I am simply beside myself with anticipation.  This book feels extremely personal- it is how our families eat, how we feed our kids, and our approach to food.  Food is personal.  Food is passion and love.  Food provides both sustenance and joy…and in the best case, both.

_MG_7053Writing about food has turned into an intense passion…but the amount of work that goes into a cookbook is astounding.  From the recipe development to the testing, from the styling to the photography, not to mention the copious amounts of writing….it is a ton of work.  When I come across a gorgeous cookbook now, I have so much respect and admiration for the author.  It is no small feat.  That is why I am so excited to bring you this giveaway for two amazing cookbooks.  I am very selective about the books that make it into my kitchen, but both of these have earned a place on my shelf, that is to be sure.

_MG_7097The fact that these cookbooks are both published by Roost, my beloved publisher, is part of their appeal., because Roost produces books that feel like so much more than just cookbooks- they are filled with personality and stories, not just recipes- and I love that.  Plus the look and feel is amazing- quality paper, hard covers.  Quite simply, Roost publishes books that they wholeheartedly believe in…and you can feel it when you pick up one of their titles.  To be included among the ranks of their talented authors still blows my mind.  But enough of that…let’s get to the good stuff.

_MG_7198 First up, At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen by Amy Chaplin.  I am finding this book incredibly useful as it both teaches you how to cook with whole foods, and provides you with amazing recipes.  Part One of the book is all about stocking your pantry- how and why to use ingredients- and cooking from your pantry.  I love this section as I am always looking to expand my knowledge of whole foods, plus the photographs of Amy’s pantry made me absolutely green with envy!  I especially loved reading “A Week of Meals in My Kitchen,” which details Amy’s approach to daily cooking, including when she fits in the prep work.  I appreciate how she makes whole food cooking a priority while practicing efficiency.

_MG_7167Part Two is all recipes, and they are so vibrant, nutritious and delicious sounding.  I was in a soup kind of mood this past week and I tried the Simple Red Lentil Soup (which is actually found in the pantry section).  I added a few things- this book inspires creativity in the kitchen- and the result was warm, spicy, and comforting.  My kids loved it, as did my husband.  To turn up the spice factor for him, I topped the soup with red Thai chili peppers from my garden, deseeded and thinly sliced.  I also sprinkled a few kale chips on top (loosely based on this recipe).  For dessert I made a batch of Cherry Pecan Cookies, using cacao nibs instead of cherries.  I also doubled down on the nuts, adding ground almonds to the batter, along with the pecans.  The cookies were crisp on the outside, while remaining soft, chewy and nutty on the inside.  They were gone in one sitting!  I’m excited to cook my way through the rest of this book.  It will easily provide us with nutritious, warm, comforting meals throughout the colder months.

page Secondly, I have to tell you about Quench, the latest title from Ashley English.  I so admire Ashley as an author.  She consistently turns out beautiful, useful, inventive books at an awe-inspiring pace.  I don’t know how she does it!  Quench is just beautiful- I have been taking it to bed each night, flipping through the pages and dreaming of making every single drink.  I’ve been promising myself for ages that I would learn to make a few signature cocktails, but I never seem to get around to it.  I’m hoping this book will change that!

_MG_7191The point is that both of these books have me excited to be in the kitchen, and that is the sign of a great cookbook.  I can only hope Little Bites will inspire the same sentiment.  It feels like such a long wait for my own book launch (July 2015- that is like a lifetime away!) but in the meantime, I’d love to give away a copy of these two books to one lucky winner.  Leave a comment here letting me know what’s cooking in your kitchen during this lovely fall season, and I’ll draw a winner next week.

**Giveaway is now closed**

quench

_MG_7207

38 thoughts on “A Roost Giveaway

    1. Rebecca

      Lately we’ve been eating a lot of soup and delicious homemade bread. I would love to be entered in the draw to win a book!

      Reply
  1. J // afeathery*nest

    So exciting to see your newest book already up on Amazon and what a sweet picture for the cover! Congrats to you both—will be an exciting week in the Chitnis/Waldman households!

    This is my first fall living abroad so have been eating a mix of autumnal Swedish food around my mother-in-law’s table (chanterelle and deer stew, apple cakes) and making what’s familiar to me from my NYC kitchen and my husband’s Sicilian one for our new table here (roasted squashes, roasted chestnuts, pork cutlets, pumpkin pancakes, etc.). Lots of bright colors to cheer up the gray days we’re having in Stockholm right now!

    Reply
  2. Angela

    Soups, lots of soups and bread! I love a hearty soup and bread when the weather gets cooler. Thanks for the chance to win these great books!

    Reply
  3. seattleknitterguy

    What’s cooking in my kitchen? Apples, apples, apples. I went to an orchard with my sister’s family last weekend and inexplicably arrived back home with a box loaded with apples. Gotta do something with all that pomme!

    Reply
  4. Anna

    The books look beautiful and inspiring, I am ready for some new kitchen ideas. I have been roasting lots of vegetables and just started baking sourdough bread again.

    Reply
  5. Lynn Herron

    I am using a lot of apples for family favorites and also trying some new recipes I have recently found. Thanks so much for the chance to win one of these cookbooks. They pictures are lovely!
    Also, how exciting to see your book this week!!

    Reply
  6. Sara Crafts

    Both of those books are gorgeous! It’s chilly and rainy here, so my freezer is about to be filled with hearty potato soup and maybe some split pea, as well.

    I brought a hand made pottery bread bowl home from our recent vacation to the Smoky Mountains. I can’t wait to pop that in the oven full of bread batter and see how it turns out!

    Reply
  7. Emily

    Ludicrously basic beef stew (beef, homemade chicken stock, onion, hulled barley, carrots, potatoes, celery, bay leaves) went in the slow-cooker this morning. We’ll have some steamed local green beans on the side this evening. Pretty standard for the season!

    Reply
  8. Susan

    We make batches of chickpea coconut curry with sweet potatoes when it gets cooler out. My daughter brings some, frozen in containers, back to her dorm at URI and lives on it all semester.

    Reply
  9. Lynn

    We are eating the last bits from the garden. Yesterday it was stuffed peppers, tonight it is squash enchilada casserole. Both of the books look great!

    Reply
  10. Xan

    Can we swap the fall kitchen for a spring one? I’ve got a sourdough starter cultivating by my kitchen window as well as a regular mix of salads – Asian noodle, shredded chicken, fennel orange & poppyseed – to accompany the herb garlic crispbread and marinated labne. We are loving the transition from the winter tummy warmers into the lighter summery meals, as I am sure you guys are in reverse.

    I have been so eagerly awaiting the release of your next book ever since you mentioned it back in May (really? Not until next July – boy that does feel like a long way off). Just last night I was ogling Ashley English’s new book on her website and popped it on my wishlist, and Amy Chaplin’s book sounds amazing. One that would likely become a daily ‘go to’ for me, plus, I want to see that pantry! Regardless of your giveaway, I think I shall be requesting some books this Christmas. Any chance I could spot the international postage and be included? BTW, those cookies… yum, I am not at all surprised they disappeared in one sitting! xo

    Reply
  11. Maggie

    At the moment, I’m roasting a lot of pumpkin and purple fingerling potatoes —- both from my family’s garden. This year, we have an abundance of both. Besides pumpkin bread, soup, and pie, I’m preserving recently picked apples into apple sauce for my boys. Yummy stuff!

    Reply
  12. Megan

    Excited for Little Bites to be released. I’m sure it will inspire many moms. With fall in the air, I decided to make a pot of beer braised bratwurst, potato, onion and cabbage. So good.

    Reply
  13. Andrea

    Desserts. We hardly ever eat dessert during the bulk of the year, but once the weather turns cooler, I get the urge to get creative with spice cakes, pies, muffins, cookies and chocolate. Most of our Christmas treats are homemade these days 😉

    Reply
  14. alice

    Congrats for Little Bites! In my French kitchen, just now: a cake in the oven (lemon, poppyseeds, almond powder, buttermilk) and in the pressure cooker, a soup with plenty of vegetables,especially pumkin.
    Thank you for this game!

    Reply
  15. Pria

    Congrats on your new book.Celebrating Diwali (an Indian Festival) this week.So trying & making some sweet and savory dishes which I love.
    Thanks for the chance to win!.
    BTW,you take amazing pictures.

    Reply
  16. louise

    Christine,
    I have been wondering about your book that I remember you mentioning at some point in the past. I am a school cook and feed preschoolers and K-12 breakfast, snack and lunch daily and lunch to senior citizens once a week. I am really looking forward to finding some great ideas in your book. I also cook for our llama treking business in the summer and am often asked if we will publish a cookbook. I am interested in your process. Congratulations for pulling it off! Louise

    Reply
  17. Jennaca

    Butternut squash soup – so easy to make and very hearty and warm on a chilly fall day. Look forward to seeing your book! I’m sure it will be terrific!

    Reply
  18. Jill

    I love cookbooks and ones with whole foods is great! We do a vegetable and fruit CSA each summer/fall so we get to experiment and grow with our canning adventures! I make my own bread, pitas and pizza crusts, yum! Thanks for the giveaway and I’ll definetly be getting your book next year!

    Reply
  19. Eva

    Our fall kitchen? Lots of soup! Also, using a lot of pumpkin and apples. I’ve turned the oven back on for roasted veggies, casserole type dishes, homemade pizza, granola, pie, you name it. I’d love to try the recipes from the whole foods cookbook! Thank you for another great giveaway.

    Reply
  20. Lisa B.

    Vegan Sweet Potato Muffins have been baking in my fall kitchen. My family loves them for a quick breakfast on the way out the door or for a snack anytime. I have been on the Roost website wishing for both of these books and would be thrilled to win them. Thanks for such a generous giveaway. I also can’t wait for your book to come out. July is so far away!

    Reply
  21. Julie

    I’m in New Zealand, so my kitchen is a spring kitchen, where there has been the salads and coleslaws. The body is craving fresh after all the cooked winter vegetables. Stak is being cooked on the BBQ too. Roll on summer.

    Reply
  22. Rebecca

    Anything I’ve already prepped ahead of time! And also sweet potatoes – really into sweet potato hashbrowns with Moroccan seasonings!

    Reply
  23. Jennifer King

    Congratulations on your new book Christine! My husband requested chili for dinner so I’ll be making that today. This week I’m also going to make a big pot of corn chowder to freeze, It’s my middle son’s favorite and nice to have frozen because he often eats at odd times due to activities. Happy fall!

    Reply
  24. Tricia

    Soups, roasted root veggies, and Pumpkin Pumpkin Pumpkin! A glorious season this is! I am a Nanny for three littles who love to cook, so your book will be a very welcome addition! Thanks for all of your hard work.

    Reply
  25. Maureen

    I’m totally smitten with anything pumpkin this time of year…latte, bread, ginger apple pumpkin soup, and pumpkin ravioli with sage!!! This is my favorite time of the year to be in the kitchen!
    Good luck with your new book, Christine! Your photography is in a class by itself – just amazing!

    Reply
  26. Anna

    I’m currently visiting my family in Russia and we are cooking all kinds of my childhood dishes together with my family. One of my favorite is blini (crepes) with caviar. It’s so Russian and so tasty!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

