Fall Reading Giveaway and Medieval Festivities

2014-10-12_0001I was so inspired by your reading suggestions, that I did something I never do.  I went into the bookstore and walked out with four brand new books.  I always get my reading material from the library, but lately, I am having trouble with the whole system.  It is a wonderful thing that we are able to reserve titles, but as luck would have it, I usually reserve three or four titles and they come in at different times, meaning multiple trips to the library, and then I am always late returning them and the pressure to finish them in two weeks is just too much.  I know- big problems, right!  So I decided to treat myself and luxuriate in four brand new books that came with no due dates or deadlines.  And then I read all four in two weeks.  Ha.  And let me say this- you guys sure know your stuff.  I LOVED each of these books.  They were all heartbreaking, and beautiful and written so very well written.  As far as a favorite, I am torn between We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and Burial Rights.  Both titles were such good reminders of the importance of love, community and open lines of communication- without those, we are so lost.  And now, as a way of saying thank you, I want to pass along these books (as long as you don’t mind my tear streaks on the pages!) and keep the reading cycle flowing .  Just leave a comment here, and make sure I have a way to get in touch with you!  I’m going to give away two bundles of two books each:

Bundle #1: Beautiful Ruins and We Were Liars

Bundle #2: We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and Burial Rights

**Giveaway is now closed**

_MG_6390

_MG_6375

_MG_6357And now in other news, we joined in our first Medieval Festival this weekend, and it was so much fun.  We reused our Halloween costumes as dragon costumes, and the boys got their first pair of swords and shield (this must be some kind of boyhood rite of passage, right?).  I love the picture of Vik getting ready to ride the dragon zip-line.  He’s scared, but there is no way he is letting his brother do it without him!  That kid has such courage- it must be a younger brother thing!  Life is so busy right now with these two hooligans….but so much fun, so much adventure, so much laughter.

_MG_6418

_MG_6366

_MG_6377

_MG_6408

_MG_6393

_MG_6396

_MG_6427

_MG_6415

_MG_6423

26 thoughts on “Fall Reading Giveaway and Medieval Festivities

  1. Maggie

    I love book recommendations — so thank you for sharing these! I enjoyed your book post from a few weeks ago and am now in the middle of The Light Between Oceans. Of course I’m loving it! What a great idea of yours to choose four books recommended to you and to now share them with your readers.

    Thanks for writing such a wonderful blog. I only read two blogs — yours and soulemama. I try to keep my time on the computer to a minimum, but I do take the time to visit these two blogs regularly. Like you, I have two boys, just a wee bit older than your two. Mine are five and seven. And like you, I struggle and worry about finding the right place to call home.

    Have a good day!

    Reply
  2. Susan

    I haven’t read any of these but have heard great things! I just finished Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet which was pretty good.

    Reply
  3. J // afeathery*nest

    Oh, how adorable are those pictures!? Fall is in full swing! Perfect time for books and knitting and coffee (or tea!). I’ve read Beautiful Ruins, but not the other three. Have recently been on a historical fiction/women rulers kick, so something contemporary would be a nice change of pace from palace intrigue! 🙂 Have a lovely week!

    Reply
    1. Maureen

      What a wonderful gesture, Christine – many thanks! I have had little time for blogs or knitting for months as I’m taking care of two immediate family members who have significant health issues at the moment. I’ve turned to late night reading to relax before closing my eyes…and I share the same difficulties with our library system as you do. It’s feast or famine – I often request multiple books and they all seem to arrive within days of one another. Thanks for the opportunity to win some wonderful books – enjoy the beautiful Rhode Island weather we’re having…it’s perfect for the beach!

      Reply
  4. Anne

    Oh, fall is definetly time to read more with the shorter days and cooler nights. I haven’t read any oft these four books but would love too!

    Reply
  5. Nicole

    It has been ages since I’ve really read a good book. And one I can pass along to a friend (vs the library) is even better!!!

    Reply
  6. zane

    What a great idea to pass on the book recommendations in the form of a give-a-way! Thanks, Christine. I love seeing your boys in their costumes! 🙂

    Reply
  7. louise

    I am in big trouble with my library right now! I took an audio book on a trip to New England and left a CD in the rental car. We were in your neighborhood for part of that trip and I was thinking of you. Interesting to see the comment from Maggie. You and Soulemama are the blogs I follow. It was very strange to see your family in her livingroom in a past blog post! Have you read Bel Canto by Ann Patchett or Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver–two of my recent favorites.

    Reply
  8. Xan

    Ha oh yes I am forever extending my loans with our online system and always cringe when or if the message pops up that “item has holds, unable to renew” or “user has reached renew limit”. They know me very well at our local library. As for this most awesome giveaway… how I would love to take part but I am not sure the international postage would qualify me 😦 Great to have these titles for my reading list though! My babes would adore a festival like that – the Medieval world and the chivalry of knights plays very heavily around here. It’s wonderful to watch them and my boy was given a sword and shield for his last birthday – definitely a rite of passage. I am in the process of stitching a scabbard and other accessories for his Christmas gift. Oh and that 3rd photo of your boys… Vik’s smile is irresistible! xo

    Reply
  9. Rebecca S.

    How wonderful! Love those dragon costumes–just perfect. And I’d love to read the books in your second bundle–I read Beautiful Ruins last summer and loved it. Hope you are enjoying every minute of your gorgeous fall. This is the time of year I really do miss the East Coast from out here in the too-warm Bay Area. In January, not so much. 😉

    Reply
  10. Helle (Helen)

    I love the horse, so funny. Good luck to the others with the book give away. I live in Europe so won’t be participating. Just finished reading Life after Life by Kate Bradbury, it might be something you’d like, I was surprised by how touching I found it.

    Reply
  11. Eva

    Your little dragon knights are too cute!! Yep, I think it’s a rite of passage — I have two boys as well, around the same age as yours, and dragons, knights, and castles have been popular around here too.

    Thanks for the giveaway, that is really generous of you. I’d love to receive a package of books in the mail, of course! Either way, I’ll put the books on my list of books to read. By the way, I found all the book recommendations a few weeks back so interesting and inspiring. I looked at some online and added them to my list 🙂

    Reply
  12. Jill

    Fun giveaway! I love to read and haven’t picked up a good novel in almost 2 years! This would inspire me to start reading again! Thanks for the opportunity!

    Reply
  13. wawaprojectorg

    Beautiful picture! And fun giveaway… I love book sharing 🙂 I often have late fees at the library, too. I tend to think of it as a donation since the library is a non-profit! Ha.

    Reply
  14. Sarah Wolfman-Robichaud

    I’m always curious to see what others mamas pick up and read in the spare moments of the day. Realizing spare moments are hard to come by with little ones, shared moments with a book companion can be the best. From their synopses, these all look wonderful!

    Reply
  15. Sara

    They all look like lovely books and how kind of you to pass them along. I think it would only be fitting to give them away again when finished, each person who reads it signing her name. You inspired me to make a Tova top recently, so I imagine myself wearing my new handmade shirt, snuggling up under a blanket by the fire reading a good book given so graciously.

    Reply
  16. Kimberlie Ott

    What a wonderful thing! I love your recommendations and am so looking forward to trying these. Count me in! 🙂 (P.S. Love, love , love this blog!!!)

    Reply
  17. Libby

    I always love your recommendations and the boys are adorable. My kids would lose their minds at that festival! So glad you are enjoying the fall even if it isn’t in Michigan! I have read and loved Beautiful Ruins but the other books look amazing. Thanks so much.

    Reply
  18. Dena

    We Were Liars was fantastic! I recently finished Where’d You Go, Bernadette and I’m now reading On Immunity: An Innoculation by Eula Biss. It’s nice as it’s written as short essays about vaccines from the perspective of the author as an academic and new mother. Next up: Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl. Can’t wait.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

