Boozy Toasted Coconut ROOT Beer Float

_MG_8521Yeah, I know- that title is something else huh?  Boozy Toasted Coconut Root Beer Float.  Are you kidding me?  Just take a sec to let that sink in…  So it’s that time of year, when the first mild spring day has me itching to fire up the bbq and have our first outdoor dinner.  Of course I am getting a little ahead of myself, seeing as the nights are still chilly, but we are getting there.  The first thing I always plan on the menu is dessert.  I LOVE dessert, and since we aren’t quite into berry season yet, I can’t rely on my favorite crumbles and cobblers.  So in the meantime…and all the time forever more, there is this root beer float.  Perfect for the kids (obviously omit the booze, as if that needs stating!), and a decadent treat for the adults.

_MG_8529This concoction’s secret weapon? Art in the Ages ROOT, a spirit with hints of cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice…sweet, warm and perfect for spiking a float.  This is some seriously crafted stuff, and on top of the artisinal brewing, it’s also certified organic.  Of course homemade hot fudge sauce, warm toasted coconut and coconut ice cream don’t hurt either!

2014-04-07_0001

Boozy Toasted Coconut Root Beer Float

Ingredients:

  1. 2 parts Art in the Ages ROOT
  2. 4 parts High Quality Root Beer
  3. 1 big scoop of Coconut Ice Cream
  4. Sprinkling of Toasted Shredded Coconut
  5. Generous dollop of Hot Fudge (I used this recipe to make my own- to die for!)

Directions:

Add ROOT to a chilled glass or mason jar, then fill it up almost to the top with root beer.  Place a large scoop of coconut ice cream right on top (a little trick, if you make the scoop larger than the mouth of the glass, it will stay on top instead of sinking).  Drizzle a generous helping of hot fudge over the ice cream and top with toasted coconut.  I toast my own unsweetened shredded coconut by simply giving it a few minutes on medium heat in my cast iron skillet, stirring it so it doesn’t burn.  Enjoy!

_MG_8526

8 thoughts on “Boozy Toasted Coconut ROOT Beer Float

  1. Andrea

    Ok, so I’ve said “Oh my God”, out loud, three times now. Once for the title, once for the photo, and once for the recipe. Safe to say I am going to love this one 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

    Reply
  2. Maureen

    OMG is right…it makes the root beer float I had last night look pathetic! Thanks so much…just wondering if you purchased Art in the Ages Root here in Rhode Island as I never heard of it before and I LOVE root beer floats! Thanks for the newest addiction!
    Happy spring!

    Reply
  3. cchitnis Post author

    Hi Maureen, Thanks for your comment- it is so yummy, I hope you try it! I’m not sure if you can find it in Rhode Island, although I would try Bottles Fine Wine as they have a great selection. I got mine from the company itself after visiting their store in Tamworth, NH during Squam (http://www.tamworthlyceum.com/)!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Fourth Street Review: The Land of Steady Habits by Ted Thompson

Leave a Reply

