Dreaming of Spring

2014-02-17_0003I suppose I could show you pictures of snow and ice…but really, aren’t we all over it?  So instead, let’s daydream of warmer days, bare shoulders and cute handmade clothes!  My goal over the past year has been to drastically decrease the number of clothes that I own.  I’ve whittled down my wardrobe to include only pieces that fit well and that I truly love.  I was still rocking some jeans from high school and my body shape has totally changed since then (yep, having two kids will do that to you!).  Most everything went to Salvation Army, while a few of the nicer pieces were sold at the local Second Time Around.  I used that money to buy a well-fitting pair of jeans from Madewell.  That was it.  I don’t want to fill my closet again just because I have the room.  Nope- instead I want to carefully make a few pieces that will carry me through each season.  I want them to fit my body perfectly and fit my lifestyle (which means easy to clean, and not too fussy).  Actually what I’d love is a uniform- getting dresses is such a tough task when you have all of 2 minutes to yourself in the morning.  Anyway, my winter wardrobe is looking good (see here and here), and with my almost finished Antler sweater, I will be styling.  Now onto spring!  The above Liv cardigan by Carrie Bostick Hoge is perfection- the color, the drape.  This is going to be next on my needles, and I’m thinking of copying her yarn choice, or trying it in the pictured Anzula For Better or Worsted in Grace.  Is that a gorgeous blue green, or what?

2014-02-17_0002Next up, sewing!  I adore these two dresses, as stitched by Cut Cut Sew.  The dress on the left is the Ruby Dress by Made by Rae.  I love the lace and denim.  Perfectly chic, and with a hand-knit cardigan thrown over top it would be ideal for spring.   Can you even handle how cute it would look with a pair of Hunter rain boots- I sense an impending photo shoot as soon as the snow melts and I get stitching!  The dress on the left is a hodge podge of patterns as put together by Cut Cut Sew.  I’m not sure how I’ll copy it- but I am going to try.  I even bought the same fabric- chambray with tiny with dots.

_MG_7367Finally, I’m trying to decide what to make with these gorgeous hand blocked fabrics I brought back from India.  They are so perfect for spring, but I’m stumped.  While in India I had my favorite shirt copied and made in a variety of similar hand-blocked prints (I’ll show them to you as soon as I’m inspired to wear them- meaning spring).  So I don’t need any shirts….perhaps dresses.  Any cute dress patterns you’ve seen lately that would lend themselves well to these fabrics?  I’d love some inspiration.

12 thoughts on “Dreaming of Spring

  1. Lillian

    Ooooh, how about a pretty skirt or two in those fabrics?? They’d be so lovely and spring-like! I’m swooning over that GORGEOUS green at the top of the post – so so pretty!

    Reply
  2. Anna

    I love this! So inspiring. I also like having a small wardrobe, though I don’t really have anything nice. I would love to be able to make most of my clothes but although I am an avid sewer and knitter I haven’t gotten really good at making things to wear (besides knitted hats). Definitely something to aspire to, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. Kristin

    This is so inspiring! I don’t know how to sew or knit (just crochet), but now I want to learn.

    I bet you could make some awesome short shorts with that striped fabric. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Kellen

    Loving the smaller wardrobe as I’m doing exactly that over here! I think some lovely little skirts from that fabric could be fun and simple. How exciting!

    Reply
  5. Maureen

    I absolutely LOVE this sweater…and it’s shown in my very favorite color! I, too, am going to purge my closet…which isn’t too small – I just have too much in there! Do you know the hanger trick? Turn all the hangers around in your closet so the hooks are facing outward. Every time you wear something during the next month, turn the hanger around so it’s facing in the conventional direction. You’ll quickly see how so many of us wear 20% of our clothing 80% of the time!
    I would use your beautiful Indian fabric for summer skirts (which are my preference – they’re the coolest thing to wear during the hot summer months!) and capris! Have fun thinking and sewing and knitting spring!

    Reply
  6. Liza Miller

    That seriously is the most gorgeous blue-green! Reading this post makes me want to run home to clear my closets. There’s so much I don’t wear/like anymore that someone else could be using. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    Reply
  7. E

    I love love love the cardigan — it will look fantastic with the yarn you have in mind! Please share the finished product with us, I look forward to seeing it 🙂 I’m also curious what you’re going to create out of the fabulous Indian fabrics….

    Reply
  8. Jennifer

    I can’t wait to see your Antler! Mine is almost done too. Pew, an entire sweater with sock weight yarn, has taken a lot of patience; however, it will be so luscious to wear!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Spring Knits (and my knitting dilemma) | Christine Chitnis

Leave a Reply

