Cottage and Garden

_MG_3706This weekend found us in Newport for the day, cheering on my husband as he played in a squash tournament.  Once the tournament wrapped I asked if we could make a quick stop at this beautiful shop I had heard about, Cottage and Garden.  As it happens, there is a great playground on the same block, and so our “quick stop” turned into a chance to linger and take pictures.

_MG_3724

_MG_3711

_MG_3705Every corner was curated into a beautiful display of home and garden goods, both new and vintage finds.  I was tempted by every item, and eventually settled on some gorgeous mercury glass ornaments to add to my growing collection.

_MG_3700

_MG_3710

_MG_3698I was also quite tempted to scoop up a bunch of these cards…aren’t they fabulous?  They were a bit pricey for me…but you can tell they are made with an attention to detail.

_MG_3703

_MG_3725When we got home, my husband surprised me with three of these little chicks to line our mantel and complete the hen and rooster that I already had.  I love that he indulges my quirky decorating.  He is a good man!

_MG_3712

_MG_3713

_MG_3734I can imagine in the warmer months the outdoor displays are really something…even in the cold, there was beauty.  I haven’t been shopping in ages, and this reminded me how much I love photographing beautiful independently owned shops around the holidays.  The displays, sparkling ornaments, sweet little gifts and cards….I love seeing shops decked out in their holiday finery.  We leave for Chicago later this week, to spend Thanksgiving with family.  I can’t wait to slip away from the boys for an afternoon and shop a few of my old haunts.  No one does holiday finery like Chicago (in this Midwestern girl’s opinion!).  Happy Thanksgiving to you and your loved ones.

_MG_3736

_MG_3737

_MG_3738

_MG_3741

5 thoughts on “Cottage and Garden

  1. Maureen

    I’m in Newport a lot…poking, exploring, taking unbeaten paths – how did I miss this little gem of a shop? Thanks so much for sharing – it’s on the top of my list for my next visit to this beautiful city by the sea~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

