Weekend on the Vineyard

_MG_3229I spent this past weekend on Martha’s Vineyard, shooting the fall recipes for our cookbook.  I know, tough job, huh?  It was a perfect fall weekend, sunny, with a crispness in the air.  The leaves were spectacular, as were the sunsets, farms and harbors.  I would wake up early each morning and wander the island, taking pictures and soaking up the sites.  I rarely get to wander alone with my camera, so when the opportunity arises, it feels like such a special gift.

_MG_2879_2

_MG_3030

_MG_3209

_MG_2881_2

_MG_3237

_MG_2938At around 10am, I would head to Sarah’s house and we would begin our shoot.  With Spring and Summer already under our belts we have it all dialed in, and the Fall shoot was seamless, flowing and perfect.  Sarah cooks (with the help of the wonderful Elise) and I style and shoot.  We make a great team!  On the second day of the shoot, we packed up and headed to a nearby farm to take lifestyle shots, along with the help of our little models.  What a privilege to call this work…!

_MG_3068

_MG_3079

_MG_3213

_MG_3173_2

_MG_3218

_MG_3133

IMG_3326

_MG_3172Of course the only thing missing from this perfect equation was the presence of my boys.  They stayed at home with my husband while I worked, and I did miss them so.  I told Vijay that I would be gone for 3 naps (Friday, Saturday and Sunday) and the little dear counted them down…”Only 2 naps left, mama.”  When I arrived home on Sunday evening they were waiting at the door, hopping up and down with anticipation.  It was a sweet reunion.  It’s always nice to have a few days away- I spoiled myself with dinner out (alone with a book, heaven), and long cups of coffee, walks on the beach at sunset and knitting late into the night.  But after a few days of rest and relaxation, I don’t quite know what to do with myself.  I miss the chaos and laughter that comes along with my boys….so that being said, it is so so good to be home.

IMG_3319_2

IMG_3321

IMG_3225_2

IMG_3268

IMG_3304

One thought on “Weekend on the Vineyard

  1. Maureen

    Congratulations and good luck with your second book! Martha’s Vineyard is a tough tour of duty but someone has to do it! 🙂 The photographs are beautiful…and hasn’t the autumn weather been just glorious this year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

