Summer Sigh

_MG_0390My garden is sadly neglected, but unlike the dishes and laundry which are also sorely neglected, my little plot of land seems to take care of itself, producing an abundance of produce despite my lack of attention.  Green beans, tomatoes, kale, hot peppers, tomatillo, herbs…I whisper my thanks for every bit of sustenance, and vow to do better next year.  This month is just too busy.  There are too many demands on my time.  I have been working 40+ hours a week, with only about 10 hours of childcare.  So that roughly translates to no sleep!

_MG_0413

_MG_0431

_MG_0428

This too shall pass, I remind myself- in a few years I suppose, when the boys are in school and there is some breathing room in my day.  Not that I am wishing this time away.  The boys are at such scrumptious ages- Vik is learning to walk, smiling up a storm and saying “Mama” in his husky little voice.  Vijay refuses to wear anything but pajamas (as is evident by these pictures), and only wants to eat grilled cheese and peaches.  Can you blame him? I want to stay in my pj’s all day, and eat peaches.  These kiddos are smarter than we give them credit for!

_MG_0411

_MG_0433

In other gardening news, my chickens have taken to wandering around the neighborhood.  We came home the other day to see the three of them strolling down the street.  Add that to the fact that they aren’t laying eggs, and we’re ready to turn them into a big ole’ chicken dinner.  Any advice to get them laying?  I’ve heard rumors of using fake eggs, though I’m not sure what that’s about!

_MG_0384

_MG_0377

_MG_0417

Anyway, I’m looking ahead to my next round of planting.  Wondering if I have the energy to replant spinach and a few other fall crops.  For now, I’m feeling like this month is a big sigh…the last sigh of summer, a tired sigh as I try to muster up the energy to get out of bed each morning, a sigh at the end of a long night of work, and most importantly, the contented sigh of my boys as I tuck them in each night, tired from another summer day.

_MG_0439

_MG_0444

5 thoughts on “Summer Sigh

  1. The Body Sleuth

    A tardy congratulations on your new developments (I missed your last post with the switch over)! And welcome to wordpress! I like it here :). I have been telling myself something very similar about sleep and the life / work balance lately as I’m just now going into my last day of photo shoots myself. I’ve come to realize that having-it-all means a lot of work!

    Reply
  2. Caitlin@Our Natural Heritage

    What a beautiful post and gorgeous garden photos! And I too, missed the opportunity to congratulate you on your new book and gorgeous site makeover! Congratulations, that is such wonderful news, and I’m so very excited to see more!

    Reply
  3. sealicious

    What beautiful words and what gorgeous garden photos! I also missed the chance to congratulate you on your last post. I’m so happy for you and so excited to follow along!

    Reply
  4. Lindsey Royal Wayland

    Just came to your blog after my mother-in-law pointed me here. She noticed (from a late-night email) that I’m now awake later since we moved into an old farm house from our teeny school bus. I can finally wake up in the evenings after I put my children to bed without fearing I will wake them up!! I’ve read lots of your blog posts and can sweetly say I adore your little corner of ether and am glad I found your blog. I’ve also read your articles in Taproot (I love that publication!), and I am in awe at your accomplishments. Thank you for what you do! Looking forward to your book, dear one!

    Reply
  5. Lindsey Royal Wayland

    Just came to your blog after my mother-in-law pointed me here. She noticed (from a late-night email) that I’m now awake later since we moved into an old farm house from our teeny school bus. I can finally wake up in the evenings after I put my children to bed without fearing I will wake them up!! I’ve read lots of your blog posts and can sweetly say I adore your little corner of ether and am glad I found your blog. I’ve also read your articles in Taproot (I love that publication!), and I am in awe at your accomplishments. Thank you for what you do! Looking forward to your book, dear one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

