Celebrating

We’re doing our best to celebrate new life after the dark events of earlier this week.  There is joy everywhere you look…in the blooming trees… in the many stories of the brave, kind heroes in the aftermath of tragedy… in my friend’s swelling baby bump, and the promise of new life.  I personally found comfort in knitting a few little woolens for her baby girl, who will join the world this fall.

There is something so soothing about the gentle clack of needles, the rows of purls and knits slowly coming together.  I sit outside while Vijay digs in the dirt, and Vik rolls around on a quilt at my feet, and I watch the balls of yarn slowly become lovely little handknits.

When darkness threatens to overtake our world, it is nice to be reminded that there is joy to be had in the simple things.  My boys are a great reminder of all that is good, innocent, pure and loving, and I am so thankful for their presence in my life.

8 thoughts on “Celebrating

  1. Maureen

    Even though I'm a “transplant” to southern Rhode Island and love living here, Boston was, and always will be, my home…forever. We had friends at the finish line of the marathon. Your words comforted my heart more than any I've heard this week. Thank you for your gentle spirit and life-affirming words – you have eased my aching heart tremendously, and for that I'll be forever grateful.
    Peace, joy, and hugs to you and your beautiful family!

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Love the knitting. What kind of yarn are you using? I'm going to be knitting some baby hats soon.
    Thanks
    Meghan

    Reply
  3. Michelle Hammond

    What a stunning post! What is so striking is the clarity; the thoughtful sentiments, the fresh colors and contrast in the photos, simultaneously both warm and crisp, as well as their deliberate selection and combination. The result is a visual feast that feeds my soul and starts the day with pure loveliness.

    Thank you!

    Reply
  4. Sarah

    Christine-
    My heart is overflowing… Your gorgeous knits were such a wonderful surprise and I can't wait for this babe to arrive to enjoy them!
    Really, my words do not do my gratitude justice- Thank you, Thank you!
    Gorgeous pictures, as usual! And Vik, those eyes!

    Reply
  5. Kelly Mckenzie

    Hi Christine,

    I just found you. Love what I've seen so far. Just had to comment on the finger sucking efforts of your son. My daughter – now 19 – sucked the exact fingers. She'll want me to tell you she has since stopped … I've never seen anyone else do it. Saw it as a sign! I'll be back! Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

