Fighting

We’ve been fighting hard here these past few days- fighting coughs, runny noses, fevers, and chills.  This winter will go down in history as our sickest yet.  Vijay has an ear ache and cough, and I am in sinus hell and ended up in the ER at 2am with a raging ear infections (seriously, who past the age of like 6 gets ear aches?!).  My poor sweet Vik has the flu, and had me in worried tears at the doctor with his 103 temperature.  His flushed cheeks, husky voice and runny little nose were just so sad.  Doesn’t your heart break when your little ones are sick, and they can’t tell you what hurts?  He wants to be held, to nurse for comfort, and so that is what we are doing.  Luckily, he doesn’t mind if I knit while I cradle him in my lap and gently sway back and forth.  The knitting seems to calm him, as it does me.  My stitches are slow, steady and even, and they take my mind away from the health battles we are fighting.  We all awoke this morning feeling better and brighter.  Here’s hoping a return to full health is just around the corner.  Until then, slow and steady stitching.

3 thoughts on “Fighting

  1. Anonymous

    oh the worrying days of young motherhood! Take care of your nest of babies, be kind to yourself and remember you are loved. This too shall pass.

    Reply
  2. martha brown

    I hope that you all get better soon. I get earaches too. Last year my eardrum burst, that was REALLY yucky. The good thing about it bursting was the pain went away! But I couldn't hear for over a month.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

