2013: The Return to Glory

I wish I had some wise words to usher in 2013, but the truth of the matter is I haven’t had a full night sleep in about 2.5 years, and this past week has been especially tiresome, with my babies under the weather, and schedules all out of whack due to the holidays.  We’ll see who makes it up to midnight tonight- oh…life with two babies!  Instead of wisdom, I will tell you a bit about my plan for the new year.  I have been jokingly referring to 2013 as my ‘return to glory’ year…and by this I mean physically.  I will NOT be pregnant for the first time in a couple of years, and in about 6 months or so, I will be done nursing.  My body will be mine for the first time in a while, and I plan to get back in shape…a return to glory, if you will.

Now this isn’t about weight loss, or getting to the gym.  It’s about rekindling my love of moving.  Because here’s the thing…I used to be a competitive athlete; lacrosse, distance running, hiking, water skiing, swimming, scuba diving, downhill skiing, tennis.  Once I married and moved to Providence, my priorities shifted and I became super focused on my writing career, and all things creative- sewing, knitting, photography and so on.  I lost my competitive edge.  Add in two babies in just under two years, and well…here we are today.

Being home in Michigan, I have had the chance to browse through old pictures, including these from my 1999 trip to Mount Kilimanjaro.  My dad and I reached the summit of the tallest peak in Africa together when I was 16.  It was an incredible trip, and it called for intense training.  I remember the feeling of being able to hike for hours with a heavy pack on my back, of being able to run for miles without getting winded.  I can still feel the sting of the below-freezing air entering my lungs as I crossed the glacier field en route to the summit.

Realistically, I know I don’t have the time to get back to my peak fitness (let’s face it, I walk up a flight of stairs, and when I make it to the top, I want to take a nap)…but I want to make an effort.  I found a women’s lacrosse league here in Rhode Island.  It begins in the spring, and I plan to be there, with my out-of-date equipment, and tired body.  I might no longer be a spry 16 year-old, but I plan to get back in the game.  Here’s to 2013- and all the glory that it holds.  It’s going to be a great year.

Thank you for spending precious moments of your day here with me…I love sharing this space with all of you.  It means the world to me that you take the time to visit.  Here are a few of my favorite memories from 2012:

January: Pregnant again, and an amazing trip to London
February: Gorgeous Jamaica
March: It’s a BOY
April: Gone to the beach, and the perfect baby shower
May: Brimfield
June: Squam
July: Vikram, our little love, joins the family
August: Brothers, trips to the farm, and my husband becomes a US citizen
September: Vermont
October: NYC in a day, and a BIG birthday bash
November: Hosting my first Thanksgiving
December: Christmas with the family

Happy New Year!

7 thoughts on “2013: The Return to Glory

  1. Anna

    Beautiful images! I hiked Kilimanjaro when I was in Tanzania almost 10 years ago, it was an amazing experience and fun to see the landscapes I traveled through as well. Best wishes for 2013!

    Reply
  2. Helle

    Happy New Year to you to. I do enjoy reading your blog, seeing how your boys get on and looking at the lovely photos. When I was a kid, I went to school in Moshi for three years, and first thing in the classroom was always checking whether we could see Kibo or not. Unfortunately, I was too small to be allowed to go on the school trip up the Kilimanjaro, it must have been an amazing experience for you to make it to the top.

    Helle

    Reply
  3. Erin

    Hi, Christine. I found your site via Taproot, and I love, love, love it. It's a welcome reprieve, a source of calm and beauty to punctuate my busy days. Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Brienne Moody

    I too am embracing my moving self this year. My youngest just turned two and although she is still nursing, she isn't at night anymore. It's like a whole new world! My kids are 16 months apart and it's been more than three years since my husband and I have had a bed to ourselves. More sleep has lead to more movement for me. And although the old skis didn't carry me as effortlessly as they used to, I welcome the work it takes for me to complete the xc loop every day at dusk. Good luck to you! And good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

