Pumpkin Vase

I am hosting Thanksgiving at my home for the first time this year.  I have never cooked a whole turkey, or attempted any recipes that you would find on a traditional Thanksgiving table.  I would be overwhelmed by the prospect, but since I am only cooking for my immediate family, and my mom, and brother’s girlfriend, Molly, will be there to help, I am not too concerned.  I have given the recipes some thought, but I am mostly excited about decorating the table.  This weekend, inspired by a bouquet from the farmers market, and a beautiful stack of pumpkins, I decided to try my hand at making a pumpkin vase.

I love the way it turned out, dark and moody colors against my farmhouse table.  I will most definitely create some version of this for our Thanksgiving table.

It is super easy to do, just carve the top off of your pumpkin and scoop out the insides.  Place a small vase of water in the pumpkin, and insert your bouquet.  Done!  It’s that simple!  Now if only pulling together a turkey dinner for 10 was that easy!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Vase

  1. Anonymous

    pulling together a turkey dinner for 10 IS that easy!!!! The turkey alone feeds many and I'm certain you are an expert at some lovely side dishes. Just make a few and there will be plenty to go 'round! Add some mashed potatoes and VOILA!!!!!! success!

    Reply
  2. texantiff

    I too am hosting Thanksgiving for the first time this year! My house is a tiny 1950s ranch, and there will be 11 adults and 3 children. Can you say crowded!? I look forward to hearing about any other ideas you come up with, especially ways to keep children entertained with crafts or games!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

