The Good Ole’ USA

Last week was just one of those weeks.  I won’t bore you with the details, but instead, I’ll give you the short list of what went down:

*mini-flood in our newly finished, carpeted basement.  four industrial fans and two de-humidifyers later, it is drying out.

*a bat in the house, swooping from room to room at 5am.  my husband managed to kill it with a tennis racquet, and i spent the next day panicking about rabies.

*a nest of wasps in our bedroom window.  fascinating to watch them build their nest, not so fun when they discovered a way inside.  husband to the rescue again.

*little vijay came down with a summer cold, meaning sleepless nights and trying our best not to contaminate the baby (unsuccessful, baby caught it anyway).

My husband and I are taking bets as to what’s coming next…locusts perhaps, or maybe the bubonic plague.  I am hoping floods, bats and wasps are enough to satisfy our drama quotient for a while.  But in the midst of all the chaos, there was one particularly bright spot in our week.  On Friday, my husband became a citizen of the USA.  He was born in Canada, and although he will keep his Canadian citizenship, we have been working towards his becoming a US citizen since we were married almost five years ago, and he has been working on it since he was a college student in the US almost two decades ago.  A long, expensive road, to say the least.

It was an emotional ceremony, particularly because of what it meant to every person in the room.  Over 17 countries were represented, from Brazil to Japan, Bosnia to Madagascar.  As our national anthem played, and we recited the Pledge of Allegiance, there was hardly a dry eye in the room.  I am so thrilled for my husband, that after contributing his fair share to our country for so many years, he is able to call himself a citizen.

6 thoughts on “The Good Ole’ USA

  1. Danielle

    Congratulations. And I totally feel for you. My girls are 19 months apart and when the littlest one was newborn, in my sleep-deprived state I left the water I was using for soaking cloth diapers running in the basement. Major flood. We had to rip up all the carpeting, carpet pads, dry it all out, etc. It was awful. I am so sorry. It does get easier, I promise.

    Reply
  2. Sandra Montgomery

    Hi Christine.
    Sorry to hear about all the dramas you have had to cope with lately. We got a wasp nest in a bird box last year and they kept coming back for a long time when it was removed. Scary things. Congratulations to your husband on his citizenship. I know nothing about this process but was amazed that it costs a lot of money.
    Good luck.
    Sandra
    Ireland
    http://www.sandy-quilts.blogspot.co.uk

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    Christine,

    I had to laugh when I read about your mishaps at home. Because they are so similar to our own.

    We presently have a leaking roof
    Have had 3 bats in the house in 2 years
    A yellow jacket nest in the basement wall that my husband discovered last week, as he was working down there
    And a 4 month old baby at home
    Plus I've never been so chronically tired in my life

    Those crazy events are such little temporary things now because our baby is our world. And how we as parents change and process our day to day events so differently then we did before we had a child. It's amazing. I love to catch up on your blog between feedings and diaper changes. God Bless you and your Family.

    Jill

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    Congratulations on your husband's achievement! and just in time to vote in the presidential elections. Two beautiful events in three weeks- and I predict that in a few months, only these two wonderful family milestones will be remembered, not the other stuff. Also, that picture should be framed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

