The First Week

I’d be lying if I said the first week home was an easy one.  You’d think with the help of my mom, dad, brother and husband we could manage…and we do manage, but not without plenty of tears and feelings of being completely overwhelmed.  Balancing the needs of a toddler, with those of a newborn baby seems a nearly impossible task.

Vijay is handling the new addition surprisingly well, given what a huge change has taken place.  He adores the baby (that is unexpected!) and showers him with kisses and pats.  And yet, he is very fragile right now- prone to crying fits for no reason, temper tantrums, back to waking up during the night, needy for his mama, and impatient when I am nursing and can’t attend to him.  Luckily, my husband and parents are keeping him active with plenty of visits to the park and pool.  How I’m supposed to keep this up once everyone leaves…I have no idea.  And yet there are moments when both boys are asleep, and the house is in some kind of order, and I think…we’re going to make it.  It’s going to be okay.

As for baby Vikram…he is all sweetness and joy.  To hold him is to feel at peace.  He is an easy, happy, content baby- nursing, sleeping- it all comes easily to him.  He is already on a great night schedule, waking every 3 hours to nurse, and then right back to sleep.  I can’t help but wonder why I thought this baby stuff was so hard the first time around.  Compared with a busy, demanding toddler, it’s a piece of cake!

My mom is staying on through Wednesday, and my husband still has some time off.  I am trying not to think about their leaving, and instead I’m using this time to allow my battered body to heal and rest while relying on my ‘team’ for help around the house and with meals.  I feel like I will never physically be back to my old self- able to run, jump and climb right alongside my boys, able to keep up the house and have the energy to put together a meal at the end of each day.  I hope this will come with time.  As for now, we’re all just taking it one moment at a time…that’s all we can do, right?  Yesterday, we all made it out of the house for a trip to the pool.  It was relaxing and refreshing and we all made it there and back in one piece.  For the first time since bringing our baby home, I knew it was all going to be okay.

p.s. a loving tribute to my baby from his auntie beth…how lucky are we to have her right across the street?!

9 thoughts on “The First Week

  1. Kayla Poole

    This is so sweet, Christine. I can't imagine how difficult it must be, but I'm sure it will become your new normal before you even have the chance to realize. it. Love the photos of your little bebe on his daddy's chest.

    Reply
  2. marieke

    i love your honesty. i sometimes have difficulties coping with my allmost 3 year old and i recognize everything you write about your toddler and i'm pretty sure i would feel the same if i'd have a second baby right now. good luck with your beautiful family!

    Reply
  3. Gaby

    beautiful family. i don't know how new mums balance having a toddler and a newborn, it blows my mind. looks like all will be well though 🙂

    Reply
  4. Kellen

    Two weeks. Give it two weeks and there will be some assemblance of a new rhythm. Then, a month. Then six weeks. It just takes time to adjust Christine as you know. Plus, you have done alot mama. Helped nurture this babe and then the delivery. You just need all the rest everyone there can give you. Again wishing we were neighbors. Just be gentle with you for right now. Try and not think too far ahead as that can be overwhelming, just for now. You have all you need within you to make this new family of yours work. Nap when the baby does and soon you will feel a bit more yourself. Your body is working hard to return to normal.
    Another little trick that someone told me about long ago is…
    Have a nursing box. A box full of fun things ie. stickers, books, toys… That your sweet Vijay ONLY gets to play with when you are nursing. Bribery, yes. Or, allowing him to have joy and not need you while your nursing. Just something to try maybe.
    I'm sending you loads of love across the states and have a wee package that will be in the mail in the next day or two for you and yours.
    Sleep well dear friend.

    Reply
  5. mamabuscadatos

    You go girl!
    I have a 6 six years old boy, and looking for the second. Now I´m married but I was a single mother at the time my boy was born and all I can remember was to be overwhelmed, out of love, tiredness, sickness, sadness, etc. Though I have learned there is nothing impossible. I thought I could not do it but I did it just fine. You are going to do it.
    Its going to take a while to be yourself again but take your time, try to listen to your body. If you need to take time to scream or cry, do it, let it go.
    Congratulations!!

    Reply
  6. amanda

    Oh goodness. breathe deeply. you just birthed a human being, sweet love. wishing i could pop on over with some food and big boys to entertain your vijay. I can't, so I'm sending love….and prayers that you will be as gentle with yourself as you've ever been. Truly. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

