Perfectly Peachy

Today is one of those days that seem to drag on…sticky, hot, and still.  I had just put Vijay down for his nap, which took over an hour- the back and forth, endless songs and stories- when the doorbell rang.  The second solicitor of the day, pushing pamphlets and asking for a minute of my time.  I held my tongue, but the look on my face must have said it all.  He quickly turned and headed back out into the heat.  As he made his hasty retreat, all I could think was, I deserve something sweet today….

With a bowl of perfectly ripe peaches sitting on the counter, I decided to make a tart of sorts.  I pretty much made it up as I went along, and luckily, it turned out to be the perfect antidote to this dragging day.  I still have mounds of peaches to use…so if you have any favorite peach recipes, do send them my way!

Peach Custard Tart with Nut Crust

For the crust:
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
2 tbls. sugar
1 cup flour
1 stick butter (softened)

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and pour into pie pan.  Using fingers, press the crust evenly around the pan and up the sides.  Bake for 10 minutes.

For the filling:
2 eggs
1/4 cup sugar
6-8 peaches, sliced

Once the crust has slightly cooled, arrange your peach slices on the crust.  In a bowl, beat together eggs and sugar, and then pour over the peach slices, sloshing around the mixture to make sure it is evenly distributed.  Bake for 30-35 minutes until the eggs have set.  Allow to cool for a few minutes, and serve with vanilla ice cream!

2 thoughts on “Perfectly Peachy

Leave a Reply

