Newport Weekend Escape

We had a false alarm this morning!  Oh, I was so sure this was it…but alas, no labor in sight.  Thank goodness for dear friends who rush over at 5am to take care of sleeping babes.  It truly takes a village to support a growing family, and I am so lucky to count Elizabeth as one of my cherished ‘villagers.’

Anyway….this weekend found us in Newport, for a quick overnight, as my husband was playing in a squash tournament at St. George’s.  I wasn’t sure I would be up for an active weekend- but we found plenty to do that didn’t involve too much walking!  A lovely sailboat ride, a driving tour of the Newport Mansions along Bellevue Avenue, and plenty of good eats.

A few of our favorite things:
*the pizza at Pasta Beach
*every single item at the luscious natural skincare boutique Farmaesthetics
*brunch at The Spiced Pear
*the Cliff Walk for beautiful scenery

On our way home Sunday afternoon, we stopped for a picnic lunch at one of my favorite places, Sweet Berry Farm.  U-pick peaches, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries, plus a ride on a tractor.  Pretty much the best day ever!  And now, back home…we continue our waiting game!

4 thoughts on “Newport Weekend Escape

  1. Megan

    Sigh. I LOVE Newport. Haven't been there in forever! A friend is getting married there in October so I can't wait to see it all again. Sounds like the baby will be here soon!!!! Yay!!!!

    Reply
  2. Kellen

    Yeah for Elizabeth! boo for the false alarm. I always knew it was just a “hey, just wanted you to know I'm getting ready” kind of thing. Exciting and frustrating equally. Sending breezy, cool summer thoughts your way. Lovely weekend. Lovely boys.

    Reply
  3. laura gaffke

    Christine, I have been following your blog since I met you at Squam a few years ago and wanted you to know how much I enjoy reading about your journey. Your pictures are always amazing and your writing is heartfelt, authentic and beautiful. Sending the warmest wishes your way…love, laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

