Popsicles and Pain

I awoke on the 4th of July, swung my legs over the side of the bed, went to stand up and crumbled as pain shot from my low back down my left leg.  I fell back into bed, and tried a few stretches, to no avail.  I knew immediately that this big ole’ baby I’m lugging around had decided to rest its precious head on my sciatic nerve.  Oh joy.  Over the course of the day, the pain stayed equally sharp, and I found myself unable to do much of anything.  I am reduced to hobbling around, crawling up the stairs, and mostly laying on my side.

My dear husband has taken a few days off to help with our little guy as I attempt to sort this out.  I found that swimming helps, and I have scheduled a prenatal massage to try and relieve some of the pain.  We’ll see.  What I do know is that I am in no shape to be lifting and running after a toddler- hmmm, not sure what to do about that.  Any suggestions, home remedies, helpful hints you would like to throw my way?

I did manage to hobble down to the kitchen and make some refreshing smoothie pops for my busy boys.  This is a great snack- packed with fruit and protein- for hot days.  I can’t promise it will take your pain away…but it will bring you a few moments of sweet satisfaction!

Raspberry and Blueberry Swirl Pops
1 cup of frozen berries
1 banana
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 tablespoon honey
Splash of almond milk

Blend all ingredients together until smooth- starting with your blueberry smoothie.  Pour into popsicle molds, filling halfway.  Rinse the blender, and then make the raspberry smoothie.  Fill the popsicle molds to the top, and insert stick.  Freeze until hardened.

7 thoughts on “Popsicles and Pain

  1. Anonymous

    Dear Christine,

    I wanted to suggest a few stretches that you could try. One is lying on your back with your sore leg crossed at the heel over your good leg( knee bent) Think of trying to make a 4 with your leg( can you see it). THen pull the good leg at the knee towards your chest. Hold and breathe. That should stretch out the sciatic nerve. The other thing is to get a pelvic support belt from a pharmacy- usually one that sells various medical supplies. They sometimes are called Sacroilliac joint belts or SI belts. That will give you support at your hips to “close them in” so they aren't going wonky when you are sleeping or walking or picking up Vijay.
    I am a PT in Canada. let me know if you want any more suggestions.
    Oh yah, another stretch is to put your foot of the sore leg on a step stool and try slowly reaching forward slightly. Hold and come back up. Repeat 3-5 times if you are feeling okay.
    Thanks, Libby

    Reply
  2. Kellen

    Oh darlin' that stinks. I'm sorry that happened. The only thing I can think is to crawl on the ground with your knees coming up and bumping into your belly. This may get the little cutie to swing forward and move off your sciatic nerve. May be worth a try if you can even do that in such pain. Thank goodness for lovely husbands. Wish I were a bit closer so that I could help. Sending love your way.

    Reply
  3. Sharon

    You must be getting close to your due date, Christine. Sounds like the rest of the way could definitely be a bumpy ride! Wish I could offer some advice. I had some sciatica with my girls but it wasn't to bad. Mostly I had restless legs at night with drove me crazy. Hopefully you can find some relief, soon.

    The popsicles look and sound delicious!

    Reply
  4. Julie

    I had that with my recent pregnancy, and chiropractic adjustment helped me a lot! If you're still in pain, I strongly recommend finding a chiropractor who specializes in pregnancy. My chiro kept me walking from 24 weeks on! I now have a precious 2-week old daughter. Good luck with the last month!

    Reply
  5. Terri Thompson

    Oh dear! I had about a month's worth of bed/home rest with my 2nd baby and had a not-quite 2-year-old at home. My (absolutely wonderful) mom came to stay to help out. Thank goodness! I would suggest filling a basket with books, puzzles, paper, crayons, and other quiet activities that you can do with your little one while laying in bed. He could spend some special time with mom cuddling and reading books and you would still be able to rest.

    And like everyone else said, I'd definitely recommend a chiropractor. Hopefully they can help you relieve that pain.

    Reply
  6. amy

    Oh dear. No suggestions for pain here, I'm just glad it's not baby-danger pain. I had not-quite-bed-rest but “take it easy” with my third and it was just a lot of being careful, since I didn't have anybody to come and help during the day. As much as we hate the thought, this is what kids TV is made for. Rest on the couch and make it a treat, with your little one cuddled up nearby. I hope the last few weeks fly by as smoothly as possible for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

