Summer Days

I love these lazy summer days.  We spend most of the day outside, at the park, or in the backyard, splashing in our tiny plastic baby pool.  My little guy plays so hard, from the moment he wakes up (5:30- ahem!) to the moment he crashes, he is a non-stop tornado of motion.  But when he crashes, he crashes oh-so-hard.  The other morning, as I was reading to him (Goodnight Gorilla for the 1,000 time) before his nap, he fell asleep sitting upright in our bed.  So I tucked him in, and he slept soundly for the next three hours.  When he woke up, he couldn’t stop giggling over the fact he fell asleep in ‘mama’s bed’ instead of his crib.  Silly little guy.

Besides napping, we have also been feasting… enjoying the bounty of our twice-weekly farmers’ market.  The first cherry tomatoes came in last week, and we ate them for every meal.  Lately, I have been obsessed with veggie bowls.  I throw together brown rice, spiced chickpeas (we make big batches of these for snacks and easy meals), baked tofu (again- made in big batches), chopped veggies (lightly sauteed kale and spinach with garlic, and freshly diced tomatoes is my favorite combo at the moment), and a sprinkle of feta or goat cheese.  Veggie bowls are such a great way to enjoy all of the farmers’ market bounty- and they make for fast, healthy, easy meals.

Of course after a virtuous meal, a heaping dose of decadent strawberry rhubarb crisp is a must.  I like rhubarb when it is super ripe, at the end of the season- this week it has been at its best!  A last little kitchen tip to share: I have been snipping herb bouquets from my backyard pots, and keeping them in jars on my kitchen counter.  Because of this simple act, I find myself cooking with fresh herbs at almost every meal.  Give it a try…as an added bonus, my kitchen smells of fragrant basil!

2 thoughts on “Summer Days

  1. Maria @ All Things Luxurious

    What a sweet post. 🙂 I love your idea for a quick and healthy meal. My husband and I keep a big batch of brown rice to use for meals like that in our refrigerator at all times. Your little one looks so cozy in his adorable sleeping photo. 🙂 Blessings to you.

    Reply
  2. writing an essay

    Carnivore and herbivore diets are contrasting, with basic nitrogen and carbon proportions being at varying levels in particular foods. Carnivores consume more nitrogen than carbon while herbivores consume less nitrogen than carbon, when an equal quantity is measured. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

