Liberty Quilt

Really….it’s Wednesday already?!  Where exactly did the week go?  We had a fabulous long weekend with my parents in town, and luckily, I started feeling so much better.  Being with my family lifts my spirits on so many levels.  Our little guy was ridiculously excited to have his beloved grandparents and uncle in town (he is obsessed with my younger brother- it is so sweet).  We greatly missed my older brother, who is currently stationed in the Middle East serving with the Naval Special Forces, but we did get to visit with his darling girlfriend, Molly, so that was a treat!  All in all a restorative, wonderful weekend.

With my maternity leave slowly starting to sink in (no deadlines, no full inbox- what a nice change!), I have been spending naptime in my studio, crafting away for little Vijay, for the baby and for myself.  I finished up the Liberty quilt and am so crazy in love with the way it turned out.

I really did contemplate hand quilting this beauty, but after attempting a row, I knew there was no way I could pull it off.  I ended up sending it to Eileen Quilts to be quilted on a long-arm machine. I am thrilled with the results, and would highly recommend her services- she is so sweet, and easy to work with, not to mention affordable, and the turn-around-time is speedy!

My 1940’s sewing machine doesn’t allow me to machine quilt, so this seemed like a great alternative.  In the past, I have rented a machine at an hourly rate at a nearby sewing studio- but to be honest, I get stressed trying to sew by the hour, and not being able to move at my own pace.

This quilt will always remind me of my wonderful trip to London with Elizabeth, and I will treasure it for that reason.  I’m already onto the next quilt- this pattern, with this fabric (the bundle at the end of the post)- for the baby’s room!  It will take some doing, but I am super excited for the little one to have his own quilt, stitched with love by his mama.

7 thoughts on “Liberty Quilt

  1. elizabeth

    holy bella bella bella!

    woman, you are a force to be reckoned with! how you get so much done in a day blows my mind .. . but I love being impressed by you– you are pure inspiration. .. xoxo, e

    Reply
  2. Danielle

    That is a stunning quilt. I found you when I looked for Liberty quilts in Google images. What an inspiration.

    Reply
    1. cchitnis Post author

      I really didn’t use a pattern. I bought the Liberty fabric and it came in long, narrow strips. I simply sewed them together!

      Reply
  3. Jenni

    Absolutely beautiful! Im looking into making a quilt like this and I am curious as to the dimensions of it. Also did you buy the fabric strips individually or in a bundle? Thanks 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

