Birthday Weekend

Sweet relief!  After being out of the country for the past two weeks on business, my husband returned home on Friday night.  Single parenting is incredibly difficult- I just don’t know how people do it.  I give them huge props.  Having to go it alone for two weeks sent me to the brink of exhaustion.  I’m so used to having my husband cover the morning shift (6-8am) and help out with the bedtime routine.  I realize that I am super lucky to have such a hands-on hubby, but he wouldn’t have it any other way.  He loves his boy!

In addition to the fact that little Vijay and I both missed him terribly, and wanted to celebrate his return home, Saturday was his birthday, and we spent the day together as a family, enjoying being together.  We ate our way through the farmers market, took a long walk to campus where we played on the main green, and cheered on the girls water polo team in the new athletic center.  A fun, leiseirly day, followed by a celebratory, home-cooked meal.  I pulled out all the stops.  Ready for this birthday menu- all ingredients sourced from the farmers market?

Lamb burgers with sauteed shallots and garlic, goat-cheese and hot-house tomato stuffed portobello mushroom caps, roasted asparagus, and a rhubarb and pear crumble.  Oh so good.

Sunday, the boys had some time together so that I could rest and put my feet up.  I snuggled down in bed with a few episodes of Prime Suspect (my new obsession, thanks to Elizabeth’s recommendation!), and worked on a sweater for my soon-to-be-arriving baby boy!  I am determined that he will have a few handmade items all his own, in addition to all the hand-me-downs he will be receiving from his big brother.  I hope yours was the loveliest of weekends, too!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend

  1. amy

    My husband travels too, sometimes it's heavier than other times…the year after we had our second baby he had at least one trip every month. You just…get through. It helps if you have help–I try not to be resentful of people who have parents around to help them, but every now and then I feel pretty bitter about it, but what can you do? Oh, and that new baby will get plenty of handmade stuff too, over the years. My third actually made out best, I think, my first two were a little older and she was the only girl and I sort of went a bit crazy knitting sweaters for her for a while. 🙂

    As for the post before this one…sigh, we meet all types on the playground, don't we? Sort of a life lesson for kids and parents both. Try not to let it linger with you, I think that does more harm than the initial interaction. Don't carry the burden of someone else's bad behavior. Easier said than done, I know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

