Being Present

It’s been one of those weeks where I can’t seem to find a spare minute to sit down at the computer and write a blog post.  It’s not that I don’t have things to say!  On the contrary… if someone were to create a gadget that would help those blog posts that you write in your head materialize onto your blog, I’d be here twice a day- minimum!

But until that invention comes along, I’ll just have to do things the old fashioned way.  When I realized today was Thursday, and the week was in its end stages, rather than beginning, I was flabbergasted.  Where did the time go?  My mom was here- and we packed in full days- but sometimes, especially since becoming a mother, I wonder what exactly I do with my time. 

If someone were to ask me what I did today, I suppose my answer would sound pretty mundane.  We had a morning bath, and French toast for breakfast.  I walked Vijay to the construction site up the road and watched the trucks at work for a while, then we made our way to the park.  We came home for snack time, and nap time, and this afternoon we will most likely head to the park, and then to the library to play at the train table.  This will be followed by a second bath (he attracts dirt better than a Swiffer), dinner and multiple readings of I Love Trucks.  I will not get any work done, nor have time to clean the house.  But I will feel pretty good about finding the time to plant a few flowers in the pots on my porch.  Other than that- it will not be a “productive” day, but a busy, full, beautiful, tiring (see above picture!) day.

As mothers, I think we need to learn to redefine our idea of productiveness.  I am trying to shift my mindset from ‘doing’ to ‘being.’  Being present for my little one- it might not be glamorous, and there are times it is extremely monotonous- but I can’t think of a better way to spend my day.

8 thoughts on “Being Present

  1. sarah ahearn bellemare

    ok, three things-

    – YES! if i had that magical blog machine that could read the posts in your head, i would be a SUPER prolific blogger! i've often thought of this, especially at 3 am when i wake up with ada for some reason and can't get back to sleep… i come up with the *best* things to say then 🙂

    -this is totally how my days look… it's all about just being… sounds easy, but sometimes i find it challenging too.

    -lastly, ada's FAVORITE book these days is I LOVE TRUCKS too! we even went out to find all of the trucks in the book the other day… too funny! xo *s

    Reply
  2. Candace

    Oh my gosh! Isn't he just so beautiful and perfect?? I can't think of a better way to spend my day Christine, you're a wonderful mother. You're so lucky to have such a great little guy, reading your blog has made me eager to have a child of my own, monotony, challenges and all.

    Reply
  3. Anna

    I'm not a mom (yet) but I am constantly trying to shift the focus of my days from being productive to enjoying each day and week for what it is and not feeling guilty if I don't get as much done. I think everyone needs to appreciate “being” more and worry less about “doing”

    Reply
  4. Bethany Susan

    I'm not a mother (although as the oldest of eight, I've had a lot of experience with babies and childhood), and this is one of my BIGGEST challenges as well. How do I want to BE today? Versus what do I have to DO? And remembering helping to raise my brothers and sisters, I wish I had been more present for their precious years. All we can do is take it one moment, one breath at a time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

