Rethinking Snack Time

The other week I was venting to my friend my frustration over the fact that little Vijay often seems to prefer snack time to mealtime.  He is a very hearty eater, so there are no worries that he is not getting enough (have you seen those adorable chubby thighs?!)…but I can’t help worry about the quality of the food he is getting.  Meals are great- fruit, veggies, protein and grains- he eats them all.  But I expressed my dismay at his great love of Cheerios, and graham crackers- not terrible food mind you, but pretty nutritionally void.  This is where my wise friend stopped me and asked, “Why can’t snacks be whole, healthy foods, too?”

Talk about a light bulb moment!  Since that conversation, I have been working hard to rethink my approach to snacks.  When Vijay wants for a snack, I try and think of a healthy, whole food alternative to crackers and cereal.  I will be sharing some of my ideas and recipes with you in the coming weeks and months.  I do hope you will enjoy them…and perhaps this will encourage you to rethink snack time, too!

First up- juice- real, live juice!  I recently purchased a juicer, and since many times, hunger is mistaken for thirst, I offer Vijay a cup of juice before we have a snack.  I try to keep my recipes seasonal- and with plenty of greens, beets and apples available at the farmers market right now, these juices are perfect.  When offering veggie/fruit juice to kids, it helps to offset the veggie taste with a hearty dose of sweeter fruits.  His (and my!) favorite recipes:

Vijay’s Juicy Juice:
2 kale leaves
3 celery stalks
1 small cucumber
1 large apple

Thoroughly wash all ingredients, and roughly chop to fit through the juicer.  Leave the peels and stalks on.  It is important to buy organic fruits and vegetables when juicing, but if you choose not to, you may consider peeling (especially cucumbers, which are coated with a yucky wax).  Send your produce through the juicer, pour into your most special cup and enjoy!  Green juice is best when you drink it within minutes of juicing- so plunge right in!

Immune Booster Super-juice
1 large beet
1-2 peeled oranges

Give the beet a good scrub before cubing and sending through the juicer.  Make sure to peel your oranges before juicing.  Give this juice a stir, as it tends to settle quickly, and drink away!

2 thoughts on “Rethinking Snack Time

  1. Danielle

    I can't wait for these! Can I make a special request for recipes with a good amount of protein? My girls are great about eating fruits and most veggies, but sometimes it's hard for me to get them to snack on something with protein, which sustains them much longer than carbs, even if coming from fruits and veggies.

    Congratulations on your second boy. We have two girls 19 months apart. I wont lie that we have hard moments, but now that they are 3 years old and 20 months respectively, they play together beautifully. It's really wonderful. Take good care of yourself. Having two babies so close together really wreaked havoc on my immune system. Acupuncture and napping were essential. Love your blog and great to see you Taproot. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

