Living Fully, Digging Deeper

I am excited to announce that I have an article in the very first issue of taproota quarterly magazine celebrating local living through writing, photography and the arts, both fine and domestic.  A magazine that boasts the amazing Amanda Blake Soule as its editor.  I was honored that she asked me to contribute- and I am so excited that I was able to offer an “urban” look at the homesteading movement.

What exactly is taproot all about?  Well, as Amanda so eloquently puts it, “taproot is a collection of curated stories written by and for people living fully and digging deeper; people who are interested in deepening their connections to their families, communities, and themselves as they strive to live locally and closer to the ground. In all the very different ways that manifests from family to family and home to home, at taproot, we hope to find the connecting thread that binds us together. “

My contribution is a look at the power of community activism.  Back in 2010, I decided to fight the city to change the ordinance that banned chicken-keeping in Providence.  In my article, I give a first-hand account of our “Backyard Battle” as well as helpful guidelines for others looking to change the laws in their town.

I am beyond thrilled to be writing about subjects that are so near and dear to my heart, and for a publication whose mission I can really get behind.  When I first started on this writing journey, I was enamored with the idea of seeing my name in those flashy, “important” magazines.  Now, several years into my journey, I have come to realize that I have no desire to work for those publications- they can be downright abusive to their writers, and they treat you as though you are a dime a dozen.  Smaller publications whose focus is on building and sustaining community- such as taproot, UPPERCASE, Edible Rhody, and so many others- treat their contributors with respect.  And that’s really what it’s all about.  At least for me, and where I am.

2 thoughts on “Living Fully, Digging Deeper

Leave a Reply

