Truth

What a fabulous weekend…a book signing at Joanne Rossman‘s gorgeous shop in Roslindale followed by a Sunday full of lounging and walks to the park.  But more on the signing…. for Saturday’s book signing will forever hold a special place in my heart.

I was introduced to Joanne by my dearest friend Elizabeth…and that introduction led to the creation of my book.  Somehow, upon our first meeting, we happened onto the subject of travel, and Joanne mentioned that she knew Susan Simon, who wrote Shopping in Marrakesh, a travel guide by The Little Bookroom.  I almost fainted with excitement as I asked Joanne if she was willing to put us in touch.

You see, I had been stalking researching The Little Bookroom ever since I laid eyes on Pia’s Paris: Made by Hand, and I knew that this was the company I wanted to publish with, but I couldn’t, for the life of me, find their contact information, and I know well enough that sending a query to the info@… email never seems to elicit a response.

Long story short…Joanne put me in touch with Susan, who graciously introduced me to her publisher…and the rest, as they say, is history. 

So, I am forever indebted to Joanne…  of course, it doesn’t hurt that she has the loveliest shop on the planet!  It feels a bit like a personalized Anthropologie…everything carefully curated and beautifully arraigned.  I couldn’t stop taking pictures of all the artful product vignettes…but at some point, I had to put the camera down and engage with all of the lovely shoppers that came to purchase my book! 

It was a magical afternoon, and I have decided that Joanne has the nicest customers that one could ever hope for.  We almost sold out of the book, which was thrilling.  In all…a perfect day!

After such a lovely weekend, Monday hit us like a slap in the face- rain, gray skies, and a cranky baby who is either teething, or constipated.  Time will tell.  But we are making the best of it…or at least we are trying.  I am loving the energy going on over at Susannah’s blog– truth in blogging, what a concept!  It’s okay to admit to having struggles and tough days- not everything needs to be rainbows and butterflies.

It’s funny, because this post started out about my amazing, perfect weekend…but as the day wore on, I didn’t have a moment to come back and finish writing…so now, as I finish what I started this morning, my mood is not quite as cheery, and I am teetering on the brink of exhaustion.  But it is okay…

Bad days happen… although I like to cushion my bad days with loads of pretty pictures…butterflies included!

4 thoughts on “Truth

  1. joanne rossman

    Christine darling! Thank you for the lovely compliments and thank you, also, for such remarkable photographs! We are so proud of you and your book…come back anytime!!!
    Joanne

    Reply
  2. Lisa

    It was a wonderful time and so nice to meet you, Joanne, and Lisa. I am so in love with the book! The pictures are gorgeous and it's just chock full of information. I'll email you a link to the blog post when it's up. Right now there is a litle teaser. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

