Super Moon

Did anyone see the super moon on Saturday night?  It was the biggest full moon since 1993.  My mom called and reminded me to run outside and catch a glimpse.

Back in 1993, I was 10 years old, and I awoke one night to find a bright light shining in my bedroom window.  In my sleepy daze, it never occurred to me to look out the window and find the source of the mysterious bright light.  Instead, I just adjusted my blinds to block the light, and went back to bed.  When I awoke in the morning and told my mom about this weird light, she informed me that it was the extremely rare super moon…and I had missed it.  I only had to wait another 17 years to see the next one…and thanks to my mom’s phone call, I caught it!  Did you?

**the photo above was taken by my mom.  i cannot, for the life of me, take a picture at night.  do you have any tips for night photography???

4 thoughts on “Super Moon

  1. Mama Llama

    The #1 thing you need for good night photography is a tripod. A shutter remote is also very nice, or you can focus and then use your camera's timer so that you don't cause any shake while pressing the shutter release button.

    No matter how hard I've tried, I cannot hold my camera still enough to take good night photos w/ out a tripod and remote.

    Reply
  2. Jodi

    I did catch it, and I saw it about ten miles from you in Smithfield, RI! It was gorgeous! We would have missed it if my hubby hadn't seen the little article in the ProJo about it.

    Reply
  3. abby

    I was going to ask you how you got that shot and then I read it was from your mom. What a beautiful picture.

    The moon was beautiful down here in Texas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

