When Dinosaurs Roamed the Earth

At 27, I still think of myself as young, but the other day, I had an “old” moment.  Let me explain…we took a walk around the Brown campus this past weekend, and made our way to the library, where I discovered this amazing card catalog system.

I had a flash back to elementary school…a time when the only way to look up information was to find it in a book.  It seems impossible, but that was before computers, and Google, and the internet.

I remember learning how to use the card catalog, thumbing through the yellowed cards, as if on a treasure hunt for a certain, small piece of information. 

Once you found your card, you then had to use the number to locate the correct section of the library, the exact shelf, and by slowly running your finger along the spines…you would finally find the book that you were searching for.

As a mom, it’s funny to think about the day when I can tell my kids…”I remember a time when there was no such thing as computers.  No facebook, no twitter, no blogging…just books.”  I am pretty sure that they will just shake their heads and reply…”Whatever mom, I’m sure you and the dinosaurs had some great times together.”

6 thoughts on “When Dinosaurs Roamed the Earth

  1. Jamie

    I literally had a conversation with someone the other day who had no idea what the dewey decimal system is.

    I won't tell you who that person is, but I will tell you that I wear his ring on my left hand.

    Seriously…DINOSAURS.

    Reply
  2. Amanda

    Oh, card catalogs! I love card catalogs. When I was a first year in college my school sold there's off. They were only $50 (an impossible sum for an undergrad, and – really – where would I have put it?), but I still regret not coughing up that money from somewhere.

    Reply
  3. Michele at A House Called Nut

    Don't worry, Susie, the Dewey Decimal system is still very much alive. It survived the transfer from card catalogs (oh, the memories!!) to computers. And home computers have been around since the 70s, so 27 isn't SO ancient after all! 🙂 🙂 Totally know what you mean though. But then again, I'm 30.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

