On Being Gentle

Funny FacesI have quickly learned that motherhood is all about being gentle with yourself, and adjusting your expectations. I have always been a productive person, moving quickly and efficiently from one project to another. Yesterday, it took us an hour and a half to get out of the house, just to visit my husband at work, a mere five minutes from our home. We stayed for 15 minutes and when we returned home, we were both so exhausted that it was time for a nap, and yet… I am okay with this.
Mom and babyMotherhood is also about being able to ask for help. My amazing mom is staying with us for two weeks, and she has been an absolute saving grace. She is handling the cooking and laundry, the cleaning and the daily runs to the drugstore (who knew such a little guy would have so many needs- more wipes, ointment, cotton balls). She is there to talk me through my worry and help me wrap my mind around the awesome responsibility of caring for a new life. She is an extra set of hands during bath time, and the gentle voice that sings to my boy while I try to shower and change my clothes (a big accomplishment).
Funny FacesI am now in awe of all mothers, and I am in awe of the amount of joy that I have experienced in the past week. Every little face he makes seems photo worthy…so will you indulge me as I go a little baby crazy!?

23 thoughts on “On Being Gentle

  1. naturally nina

    yes yes yes, go baby crazy!! you'll never post too many pictures of the little one. πŸ™‚

    and how wonderful to have your mom around. it's so lovely to hear how you're embracing everything that is being a new mama… gentle and patient.

    couldn't be happier for you!

    Reply
  2. Vixanne

    Please please please go totally baby crazy! He's absolutely gorgeous and I love hearing how things are going for you guys. We've just had a little boy 3 weeks ago, but he's our second, so it's not as new to us (just as wonderful though!)

    Reply
  3. bluepoppy

    oh he is SO photogenic– loving it– LOVING that your mom is there with you– what a goddess she is– counting the days til I get to hold him in my arms .. bisous, E

    Reply
  4. Ephemeral Evidence

    Well said. It is amazing..the work, the responsibility, the lack of sleep…certainly life changing. Everyone says it goes by so fast and you know what? It goes by so fast!! Congratulations!!

    Reply
  5. Susan

    He is so beautiful, Christine. I
    hope you are enjoying every moment.
    And, as a grandmother, I know your
    mother is loving being there with you as much as you love having
    here there. Thirty odd years later, I still remember what an
    absolute thrill it was to wash
    my hair and not have to worry
    because my mother was there.

    Reply
  6. Erin

    We will indulge you! He is precious, so tiny and sweet. What a wonderful and miraculous thing new life is. Thank you for sharing it with us all.

    Reply
  7. beki

    Enjoy your babymoon! Thanks so muc for sharing with us. Reading about your experience brings me back to my own early days of motherhood πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Kellen

    My goodness Christine. He is amazing. So are you. It is an art form to being gentle with yourself. I'm so glad your dear mama is there with you. I'm so glad you are taking some much deserved home time. I still remember we made baby watching an art form when our first was born. Enjoy every moment. You and Vijay are apart of something magnificent to see. Sending lots of mama love your way. Let me know if there is anything you need from here.
    Kellen

    Reply
  9. Andrea

    Coming out of lurking to wish you congratulations Christine, he is beautiful, and yes, bring on those baby photos. Being gentle is a great gift to yourself, these first weeks are so precious.

    Reply
  10. christina marie

    Just a regular reader here with no association / found your site through an article you had in a magazine.

    Anywho – just had to say that your little one has such wonderfully honest eyes – such a cutie patootie!

    Keep up the great blog!!!

    Reply
  11. charlotte

    Congratulations on your beautiful boy, Christine! He is so adorable! Glad your mom is there to help- and that you have already figured out that you have all the time in the world for everything else. Allow yourself time for this. now. it goes way too fast.

    Reply
  12. Michelle Shopped

    mmm…yes, please do! he is gorgeous — i am in love with that last photo and his mop of dark hair (reminds me of my firstborn and how smitten i was)…winter farmer's market starts at hope tomorrow — do you dare? it'll be an adventure (and a great opp to show off the new babe!)

    Reply
  13. Abby

    Just started reading your blog (and stumbled upon your Country Living article, too). Congratulations on your beautiful little one! He is quite the cutie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

