Tulu, Istanbul

Tulu, IstanbulI thought I had died and gone to textile heaven when I set foot inside if Tulu, a gorgeous shop here in Istanbul owned by American antiques dealer Elizabeth Hewitt. True love brought her to Turkey, where she now lives with her Turkish husband…and true love was exactly what I was feeling as I wandered through her shop. She designs all of the prints in the shop, which adorn everything from luxurious bedding and pillows, to scarves and tunics. Tulu, IstanbulYou all know how I feel about the colors pink and green…so of course I devoured the pillows above, eventually settling on a pair of Euro shams. What will I use them for…who knows? But they were just so soft and luxurious I couldn’t help myself! Tulu, IstanbulIn addition to the items that Elizabeth designs, she also sources antiques from around the world, adding to the fact that Tulu feels like an exotic treasure hunt. There where vintage sari wrapped journals, antique pillows, and gorgeous enamel tiffins (Indian lunch boxes). She also refurbishes antique furniture, which she reupholsters with her own prints. How do you think one of those would have packed up in my suitcase?
Tulu, IstanbulLuckily, for those of you that don’t have a trip to Istanbul on the books, you can find Tulu products in the States… just check out the stockists list on the Tulu website. But for anyone coming to Istanbul, you simply must add Tulu to your itinerary. Trust me…you will thank me (your wallet and husband might not, but I cannot be held responsible for that!).
Tulu, Istanbul Tulu, Istanbul Tulu, Istanbul

7 thoughts on “Tulu, Istanbul

  1. Marianne Boukamp

    OMG! Amazing pictures. Loving them all. And I thought India was the most colorful place on Earth. Be safe and have a lovely trip.
    love, Mom

    Reply
  2. nourished mama

    looks beautiful! I especially like the silver sort of tagine looking ornament!..Istanbul is one of the places I would love to visit{one day hhhhhhh}…thankyou for taking me there! really great pictures.

    Reply
  3. Rambles with Reese

    I just found your blog through Punctuation Mark and I'm so glad I did.

    What a lovely blog you have. I love these pictures and you've combined my favourite hobbies together – writing, design and photography. Great combination!

    I look forward to more posts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

