Saying Goodbye

Henna HandsThis is a rather bittersweet goodbye…I am ready to return home to Providence in full bloom. My hands ache to dig in the dirt, tend to my chickens, finish my quilt, and visit my springtime farmers market. And yet, I have a heavy feeling in my heart. This will be our last visit to India for a little while, and I am not sure if I am ready to say my goodbyes. I have so many more pictures and stories to share with you, and I can’t wait to show you some of the amazing loot that I will be hauling back home! But it will have to wait…I am going to enjoy our last day here, bask in the noise and heat, soak up every ounce of India, and hope that it will last me until we return.

10 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. faith

    Just have to say that i've loved seeing your pictures.. it's made me want to travel back so badly. on your next visit, you should travel south (if you haven't already). i'm biased (being from kerala) but it's really beautiful and so very different.

    Reply
  2. Susan

    Your posts and your pictures, and most of all your love and appreciation of India makes so want to be there one day. Thank you once again for sharing your life with us.

    Reply
  3. Elena Rego

    In 2007 I spent 2 months in India. When I got on that plain to head home I was so ready. India had chewed me up and spit me out completely decimated. It was a destruction I had desperately needed, although admittedly, I had wanted a gentler disintegration.

    It has been just over 3 years, and India is still woven into my being, and now she is calling me in a huge way. Come back, I keep hearing, and I have to laugh, because its has taken me this long to be ready. There is nothing like India. Nothing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

