The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Silhouette Project

No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Silhouette ProjectI have found one great solution to chase away the winter blues….the HBO show The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency starring Jill Scott. The No. 1 Ladies Detective AgencyBased on the bestselling book series by Alexander McCall Smith, this show takes viewers along to Botswana, where detective Precious Ramotswe attempts to establish herself as a serious crime solving machine. The story line is cute, but what really drew me in was the vibrant cinematography, set design and graphics.
The No. 1 Ladies Detective AgencyAt the end of the very first episode, I noticed a great silhouette graphic of Precious, with a colorful headband and big gold hoop earrings. I leapt out of bed, grabbed my tracing paper and taped it right to the television screen. No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Silhouette ProjectI happened to have some funky African textiles from Ghana, a vibrant background color and a black fabric perfect for silhouetting.No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Silhouette Project I was so excited about this project that I didn’t even take the time to embroider the fabric, I just used Fray Check and some fabric glue and ta da….I am totally in love with the results! In a matter of minutes I had a vibrant, one-of-a-kind wall hanging for my studio. I could see these becoming very addictive…I have a few more color schemes in mind!No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Silhouette Project

24 thoughts on “The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Silhouette Project

  1. Kim

    brilliant! 🙂

    i have some beaded necklaces almost exactly like that from my time in africa. you've inspired me to do something with them! but what… haha

    Reply
  2. Cathy K

    Oh, I love this! I've read all the books & got the DVD for Christmas. We, too, have been savoring the shows over these winter weeks. Just finished up the “extras” on the DVD last weekend, LOL. Must plan a trip to Botswana! Your idea is a great one and I may borrow it for my African-themed bedroom…. Hugs, Cathy

    Reply
  3. san

    I loved the show dearly, I'm very fond of Africa related things and found Precious Ramotswe such a lovable character. As to your work it's very pretty, congrats! I'd love to hang it on my wall :). Your blog is very inspiring.

    Reply
  4. DivineLioness

    I absolutely love these books, as well as this project. I posted a link on my blog, simply because I couldn't get enough…

    Hope you don't mind, and thanks for inspiring me and so many others with craft projects that manage to be just the combination of both challenging and un-intimidating!

    -DivineLioness
    browngirlgadfly.blogspot.com

    Reply
  5. pharmacy

    This is perfect because I love the the blues and I realize it is a combination of all those things together, actually I'd like to share this information with my friends who like blues and also those kinds of books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

