Thanksgiving in Chicago

I hope everyone had a lovely Thanksgiving. I tried to jump on the computer to wish all of you a happy turkey day, but alas, our whirlwind Chicago trip did not allow time for online dallying!
We had a magical visit to my old hometown. Visiting Chicago is always a bittersweet journey for me. I lived there for three years straight out of college. I have so many wonderful memories of the city life, but also many prickly memories…long hours working as a cocktail waitress to supplement my non-profit income, dating fiasco’s involving certain boys who shall remain nameless, the loneliness that set in on Sunday nights when I found myself stranded in my studio apartment. You know, all that “single girl in the city” stuff! But now that I am an old, married lady, I sometimes miss all the drama!
Anyway, we had a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at my aunts house…I became wildly addicted to Rock Band. I mean, have you ever played that thing? It is possibly the most awesome game ever. I will post pictures of my family band soon…they are hilarious!
I was terrible about bringing my camera around with me as we explored the city. My mom and I went on several adventures around my old neighborhood! We tried to steer clear of Michigan Avenue because it was absolute mayhem…but right next to our hotel was the Tiffany store and I managed to snap a few pictures of their windows. These pictures don’t do them justice, but if you click on them to make them bigger, hopefully you can see the amazing, intricate paper cut scenes, each one including a piece of Tiffany’s jewelry. The artistry is amazing!That’s all for now…back to the grind of unpacking, laundry and an overflowing to-do list. This afternoon I am going to a lecture with my all-time favorite author…more on that tomorrow!

Happy December (umm, where exactly did November disappear to?)!

Leave a Reply

