DIY Summer Reading

I have been reading some excellent books this summer. A few of my favorites so far are The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Julie & Julia, Fast Food Nation and The Omnivores Dilemma. I always bring my book-of-the-moment to the beach and when the wind starts whipping off the water…well, there goes my page. So I decided to craft some simple and sweet little page markers.

Step One: Round up a few pretty buttons, a couple paper clips, some matching ribbon and thread (thin wire or stretchy jewelry cord works well too!)Step Two: Thread a needle with your cord/wire/thread and make a few loops through the button hole. Tie off your thread in the back and then insert your paper clip through the loops. Tie on your matching ribbon and hide your knot behind the button. For extra staying-power, but a dab of hot glue on the button and press the paper clip and ribbon on.Now off you go to do some beach reading, without worrying about losing your page!

7 thoughts on “DIY Summer Reading

  1. Anne

    Oooo… love those page markers! I've read all those books except for Julie & Julia – I'll have to look for it. I just finished reading “In Defense of Food” (one of Micheal Pollan's other books), and it was really good, too.

    Reply
  2. Rosanne

    Some other food reading that I have enjoyed and you may too: “Clementine in the Kitchen” by Samuel Chamberlain (American family's beloved French cook, Clementine, in the nostalgic era of pre-World War II France), “My Life in France” by Julia Child (outspoken California girl, Julia Child learns to cook and eat in France), “Tender at the Bone” by Ruth Reichl (Gourmet Magazine Editor Ruth Reichl's funny memoir about her childhood food experiences and a mom who can't cook), “A Homemade Life” by Molly Wizenberg (touching stories and recipes by a young food writer).

    Reply
  3. singtatter

    Love the idea adding the ribbons. Will try this quick method to decorate up the clips with my girls 🙂

    For those who tat, I have a number of tatted paper clip patterns on my blog. Take longer time to make one though 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

