Wow!

I was shocked and thrilled to see that my miscarriage article was mentioned, at length, in a recent article in The Washington Post and another article over at True/ Slant. How exciting is it that people are really talking about this subject, with no shame and no holding back? I am sensing that an article like this was sorely needed. I noticed that there are over 100 comments combined on these two articles. Apparently, those of us who have suffered a miscarriage had some things to get off our chests, and I am honored that I was able to provide the forum in which to do so!

3 thoughts on “Wow!

  1. Lori R

    Kudos to you for having the courage to share your pain! You have obviously touched a soft spot. I hope it brings you some measure of comfort to know that by sharing and being vulnerable you are helping other hurting parents.

    Reply
  2. Katie Z

    Regarding the article in which the author has doubt that you will share your news immediately again, I don’t doubt you at all. After my miscarriage, I vowed I would wait the 3 months to tell with my next. However, when I became pregnant again, I felt different about the situation. I had already gone through the tremendous pain of such a loss, and I felt that if it happened again, I would appreciate the support of family and friends (such as you mentioned). I was way too excited to keep the news a secret, and I didn’t feel overly nervous that I would lose another. What also helped was the knowledge that miscarriage is so common (isn’t it 1 in 3 pregnancies?). I allowed myself to be comforted by that fact andfearlessly accepted my pregnancy. My son was born 6 weeks ago…

    Reply
  3. Hanna Otero

    I came to your blog through Babble.com, where I also recently had an article published. It must have been thrilling to see so many people reacting to your piece, which explores an incredibly personal–yet clearly universal– matter. I have always felt that keeping the news of pregancy private until the 12th week was sort of a sad tradition–it robs newly-pregnant women of the chance to share both their early joys and, sometimes, their sorrows. It was really brave of you to share your story. I’m looking forward to reading more from you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

