Sewing Machine Cozy Tutorial

Yesterday I realized that I had not shared my sewing machine cozy tutorial with you! It was part of my craft corner make-over, as was the ribbon board, which already had its moment in the sun! So here we go…Step One: First you need to take the measurements of your sewing machine; length, width, height and the entire front to back measurement. The measurements for my old Singer were as follows: front to back: 26 and 1/2 inches , width: 7 inches , height: 12 inches , length: 16 and 1/2 inches. Once you have your measurements, you will need to cut three pieces of the fabric of your choice. I recommend something with a little stiffness to it, so it will hold its shape well. Also, make sure to allow 1/2 inch extra on each side for your seam allowance. You will need two pieces that measure the height and width and one large piece that measures the front to back measurement and the length.

Step Two: Find the middle of your large piece (on the longer side) and the middle of your shorter pieces (on the shorter side) and pin them together, lining up the centers and making sure the pattern sides are facing each other. Sew with a zig-zag stitch.Step Three: Pin the remaining sides together so you get a bag-like shape. Cut a 1/2 inch notch at each of the corners so that you can sew them with ease. Now sew up the sides with a zig-zag stitch.
Step Four: Now you will turn the cozy right side out and iron creases in the top so that it will sit nicely on your machine and hold its shape. Place the cozy on your machine and pin the hem so that it sits right at the edge of your machine’s bottom. Sew in a zig-zag stitch (fyi: the zig-zag stitch just gives extra stiffness to the cozy!).
You are finished…now cover your machine and enjoy your new, aesthetically pleasing craft area! If this was confusing in any way, just leave me a comment and I can clear things up!

14 thoughts on “Sewing Machine Cozy Tutorial

  1. Annie Pazoo

    I LOVE your sewing corner. You’ve made me realize that I could do likewise with my corner (rather than complain that it’s not enough, and leave it in a mess, as I have been doing. I love Lavender and Limes, and your new banner is fab.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Hi, I just found your blog when searching for a sewing tutorial cozy. i am going to make it right now! Thank you for the very clear instructions. I also noticed your lovely photos of India. As you can perhaps tell from my name I am from India (Pune)–and these pictures are just beautiful. Worth of being in Anthrolpology catalogue–I couldn't agree more. I am very new to the world of sewing and quilting and looking forward to reading more of your blog.

    Reply
  3. canarymom

    Christine,
    I am making the sewing machine cover and understand all, except the perpendicular corners joining the front/back and side pieces. Is the 0.5″ cut made only on the side piece after sewing the first seam? I made it through both pieces of material and found it very awkward to line the seams up. Your help would be appreciated. Thanks

    Reply
  4. Wendy

    I absolutely love the idea of keeping fabric in the shoe thingy, I never thought of that and its so much easier and much more convenient than keeping it in a trunk like a do (for lack of space). Thank you so much! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Studio Tour | Christine Chitnis

Leave a Reply

